Garlicky Beet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My roommate swore up and down that she wouldn't eat beets. But, after they were cooked and I convinced her to try one, I couldn't get her to stop eating these before the guests arrived. She loved them - and the guests loved what was left of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
All I can say is YUM! Very nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This was GREAT! I roasted my beets for an hour in their skins first, coated in olive oil, for an hour (keeps ALL the good stuff in). Then I sliced them and let them sit in the marinade for awhile. Even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Amazing! Easy and a big hit with my family and friends.. gets a nice shot of colour to the plate as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I always have my beets in borcht & now I have another way to eat these wonderful little morsels. No changes, other then doubling the garlic(yeah we love it). Will make again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I love beets, but to me this tasted too much like what is usually called "Harvard Beets," which is the stlye of preparation that used to make me think I hated beets. Just not what I was expecting, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Yum! Thanks for a fantastic recipe! My husband and I can't stop eating these beets when I make them. If your beets are fresh enough, you don't even need to add salt. I adjust the vinegar and oil to taste, add about a Tbsp. of honey and have substituted slivered onions for the garlic, for those who are not garlic fans. If you make the dressing before hand and pour it over the sliced beets and toss, you'll get less breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was so good, I can't remember the last time we had beets but now I can't wait to have them again, the flavour was great, it was easy to make and so healthy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I have made this salad with both fresh and canned beets. Love it either way. I do add a little more garlc. This recipe is really simple and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Let me first say that I am not a big fan of beets. BUT...this actually made them o.k., and my husband really loved them. I took your advice to add more garlic {selfishly I thought it would overpower the beet flavor}, and it created a nice taste combination. Thanks for a beet recipe that I can live with and my husband just adores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States