Garlicky Beet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I liked them ok (although not a beet lover) but my family didn't like them at all. My husband found them too oily. So I made them a second time with less oil and then they were too garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I grew beets in my garden this year so I was in search of great beet recipes. I love this one. I made it twice already. I added a little dill from my garden too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I can't get over the "dirty" flavor of beets, but this recipe is nice if you need to eat them. I used canned beets and a red cooking wine instead of vinegar - which is maybe why it didn't live up to my expectations. I'll give it another go...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very nice, simple recipe for beets. I found that the flavor is so much better the next day, so I recommend preparing the day before if possible. I never thought I would like beets with a garlic & oil mixture, but it's very good. I will make this again, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this with yellow beets and found it a beautiful and delicious dish. My culinarily unadventurous family wouldn't touch it, however. If you like beets, this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I cheated also, used canned beets. Looking for something extra to go with dinner, I made these exactly as per recipe, but could not resist adding fresh basil as another suggested and I have an abundance of fresh herbs, love to use them whenever possible. No leftovers for tomorrow. DH and I ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
OMG, absolutely the best. I cheated and used canned beets. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Delicious! Very easy and quite elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
this is an awesome recipe, everyone I have made it for has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These are similiar to those that an Italian deli by our house serves. My hubby & I love them and when I found this recipe, decided to give it a try. I used fresh beets, 6 cloves of garlic and added fresh shredded basil. Also doubled the dressing, since I used more beets then this recipe calls for. EXCELLENT! And just as good, if not better, then the Italian eatery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States