Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I cut back on the salt a bit--other than that, I made no other substution. This is absolutely wonderful. Not only did I swoon over this squash, my two boys loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I added chopped red pepper. Also good with other veggies such as cauliflower or broccoli. With these, I cut the baking time to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First time making butternut squash... This recipe is fantastic! Simple and easy (other than dicing up the squash... any easy way to do this?). It will be a regular rotation now. I didn't add the cheese and still loved it. I'll try with the cheese one of these days too. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
It was so delicious! I was out of parsley so I added rosemary instead and oh my word, it was out of this world! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I thought this recipe was a mushy, bland disaster, until I salvaged it by tossing the squash with whole wheat spaghetti (and two tblspns butter, which benefits squash immensely). I had already doubled the garlic, but after tasting the partially cooked squash (very bland and too sweet) I sprinkled it with shichimi (a complex Japanese pepper) and finished the bake. I smashed a few of the softest pieces of squash to mix in with the spaghetti and the oil from the baking dish, tossed in fresh parsley and more Parmesan, topped the plated spaghetti with chunks of squash. It was delicious. However, served by itself and baked according to directions, I would not find this dish edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have never tasted Butternut squash before, I picked a pack up at Sams Club and made this recipe - FANTASTIC!! and so simple! (my squash was peeled, cut and ready to use)Highly Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is probably my favorite side dish. t's colorful, delicious, and simple to make. My husband and I absolutely love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I microwaved a 20 oz package in a covered dish for 10 min. Very tasty and easy to fix. Next time I'll try it with some baby spinach mixed in and maybe some craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Before tonight, I had never made butternut squash before. Thanks to this recipe, it will become a weekly staple in my house! My boyfriend and his family raved over it, and usually they HATE vegetables. I did make a couple of changes. First, I only used 1 tbsp of oil. Also, to coordinate it with another dish I was preparing, I cooked it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Then I added the parmesan cheese on top and baked at 400 for another 20 minutes. It came out PERFECT!! I used freshly shredded parmesan cheese and it created a tasty crisp on top of the squash. The pieces were nice and crunchy on the outside, but moist, sweet, and succulent on the inside. Everyone went back for seconds (and even thirds)! Thank you for sharing a simple recipe that makes a big impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjmixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Fantastic! Loved it! I've never had butternut squash before and didn't know what to expect. This is delicious! The squash is soft & sweet and the Parmesan adds a crunchy saltiness to it that compliments it so well! It was like a burst of different flavors and textures in my mouth, my taste buds savored them! I followed another reviewers advice and put the cheese in half way through baking and I didn't have fresh parsley so used dried parsley. This will definitely become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States