Garlicky Appetizer Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I was looking for a quick dinner with the shrimp I had on hand. This turned out wonderfully. Unfortunately, it was the one time I did not have shallots (which we love!) on hand, so following a suggestion I used onion. I also added a hint of red pepper. I can't wait to try this with shallots! I may try adding a little white wine too. Probably making this again for New Year's Eve dinner tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
What a fabulous recipe!! All I had were frozen cooked jumbo shrimp, so I had my doubts at how this would turn out. I mixed the marinade adding about 1/4 cup of white wine, and marinated the shrimp for about 2 hours. Then, I heated a skillet on med. high heat, threw in the whole shebang, and served french bread to mop up the juices. Very impressive results, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This one is a keeper! With 3 exceptions, we followed the recipe exactly. There were only 2 of us and we aren't big eaters, as in our younger years. We used just a tad over 1 pound of large shrimp, which made for left-overs. We both l-o-v-e garlic and felt that 1 tbs minced garlic sorta equates to "why bother?". I think I used about 6 good-sized cloves and minced 'em good. Used all the rest of the ingredients and let it all rest in the fridge for at least 1 1/2 hrs, if not a bit more. Bob didn't feel like messing with the grill, so we cooked 'em on the stove. Served it over angel hair pasta along with some steamed spinach and a salad, and a lovely bottle of dry, crisp white French wine. Oh my, what a meal!! We both agree we may never order shrimp scampi in a restaurant again! This recipe is sooo good on its own, 'though we just might try experimenting and add some white wine in the marinade next time. The leftovers reheated beautifully in the microwave at half-power. Thanks, Holly, this recipe is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley S
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I've been trying out a bunch of shrimp recipes from this site recently, and this is by far my favourite! Served over rice, it was perfect for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was just okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This shrimp scampi is absolutely delicious!!!!!!!!!! I made it for my family and they all loved it. They even thought it was better than Red Lobster's shrimp scampi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made these on the grill to go with our easter dinner...I used a bag of shrimp and let them marinate overnight they were good but think they would be much better with fresh shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
All I can say is YUM. I am only giving it 4 stars because somehow the shrimp or perhaps the oil made our grill flare up almost catching our patio on fire. That would have hindered our Valentines Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Great, although I served this as an "tapas" appetizer, since I was looking for the spanish "gambas al ajillo". I marinated the shrimp with about 4 TB of good butter and the oil. Then I heated another 1/3 cup olive oil to very hot and dumped in the shrimp. After about 2 minutes, I mixed the shrimp up, added salt, fresh ground pepper, and about 1 tsp. cajun seasoning ( Slap Yo Momma). I served it with french bread. Of course, the shrimp was very fresh, bought off the boat near Apalachacola Florida. I think next time I'll reduce the oil, add some chopped green onions at the last minute and thicken with some cream and maybe flour. I'll serve in a toasted bread bowl and bet it's just like a very popular recipe at an Italian restaurant in Baltimore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Love this receipe, I have made it several times, but over rice, and have added some light cream, to make more sauce, and more rick-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Scampi

Check out this simple, quick dinner idea!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States