Garlic Wine Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very nice! The sauce made enough for several servings, as several reviewers have mentioned. I served by layering a 13 x 9 dish with pasta, putting the chicken on top of that and pouring the sauce over all with parsley as a garnish. Simple to prep, complex in flavor and liked by my family = a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
For such an easy easy dinner, it was delicious. It's nice also to be able to make a meal for one. Rarely do you see "serving size - 1" I had with fresh steamed vegetables and it was great. Thanks so much for sharing. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very easy for how delicious it is. Followed other reviewers comments. Used 2 chicken breasts, added 1/2 t salt and pepper and garlic powder to flour. I also used 1/2 cooking wine, 1/2 chicken broth, and canned mushroom slices since I had no fresh ones on hand. Very delicious on whole wheat angel hair pasta. My 3 kids under age 6 gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
delicious flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very easy and delicious. I actually used 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I was really surprised at how bad this was. Way too much lemon -- it didn't taste good at all. I made it as written and will not be making it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Liked the buttery smoothness of the sauce but it was just a little too much lemon. May make again with a little less lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this recipe for 4 servings instead of just one, and after reading other reviews (in regards to increasing the yield) I went ahead and decreased the lemon from 2 squeezed lemons to just 1, and the wine from 6 cups to just 4 cups, and only about 6-8 oz sliced mushrooms. It turned out so delicious and yummy I'm definitely going to make this again. It was easy to make, but also complex tasting - that combination is always nice. As other reviewers said, it takes longer to reduce the liquid, about 25-30 minutes for me. It did remind me of Chicken Picatta but I liked it a lot better because it tasted more appropriate for chicken, whereas the Picatta sauce seems more appropriate for fish to me. This would be a great recipe for when guests come, as it doesn't require much prep or time but is somewhat fancy & delicious to be able to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HODDIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I increased the yield to 4 servings and that meant using 2 lemons. This was a little to lemony for us. I mean, I love lemons and all but you shouldn't pucker while eating dinner. Maybe my lemons were bigger then they should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
In a word...excellent. Simply excellent. Reminiscent of Chicken Piccata, with its piquant lemon butter sauce. While I didn't measure exactly, I can say that I essentially used for two chicken breasts what the recipe intended for one. As an example, a cup and a half of wine for just one chicken breast does seen like a LOT, doesn't it? As does 1/2 T. of garlic and a half lemon, however, these amounts were just right for two chicken breasts. I browned the chicken in olive oil rather than vegetable oil, tho' that's just a personal preference. Also, since I don't drink Chablis I used what I had open which was a Pinot Grigio, and Chardonnay would have worked well too. The butter at the end, just as it is with Veal or Chicken Piccata, is essential. It not only thickens the sauce but gives it a velvety richness as well. I garnished this with lemon slices and chopped fresh parsley and served it with an herbed Parmesan orzo. (Pasta with garlic and olive oil would also be ideal!) I have to admit I was tempted to substitute chicken broth for part of the wine but in the end decided to prepare this as written and was not disappointed in the least. This is just a beautiful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States