Garlic Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
After making it as directed, I thought there was FAR too much liquid for the amount of veggies. I doubled the carrots, celery, and cabbage, but used a couple fresh tomatoes, because I had no more canned. The pepper still overpowered everything. It calls for no salt, so at the end I added 1 t and it was still very bland. I can't even see that this is a starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a former faceless recipe. A good basic vegetable soup with unlimited possibilities. I used my own homemade chicken broth and added tri-color rotini. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was a great soup! I wanted this vegetarian so I used vegetable broth and added more vegetables like other reviewers. I added 1/2 large onion, and a leek. The only tomatoes we had were Italian stewed tomatoes which made the soup taste a lot like minestrone. My DH and our room mate loved it. This was also very easy to make. Next time I might add more liquid to accommodate the extra veggies and add the cabbage later on to keep it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I thought this turned out pretty good. I had some spinach I threw into it also, which added more color and nutrients. Didn't really change anything. I was surprised it had as much flavor as it did. I used more garlic in the beginning and at the end and more black pepper but that was it. My husband liked it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My family LOVED this soup! I was a bit skeptical about the cabbage but my kids loved it. I added onion but did not add the pasta because my beloved does not like pasta at all. This is a keeper! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Tasty soup. I used a full head of cabbage. Used whole-wheat macaroni spirals. My husband really likes this soup, and generally he doesn't request soup. The flavor of this soup is even more amazing after a day or two in the fridge. I served it with some Irish Brown Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Just okay. A little bland. Seemed like it needed more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is delicious! I use an onion in place of the cabbage (dh doesn't like cabbage, however it would be wonderful with the cabbage) and sauteed the garlic the last minute with the other veggies (we like a "sweet" garlic flavor rather than strong), pureed one of the cans of tomatoes, used homemade veggie stock instead of the chicken broth, and used whole wheat macaroni. Very good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was delicious! I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian, added lentils, leeks, an onion and three extra whole garlic cloves and 2 bay leaves. I didn't have enough canned tomatoes so I also used fresh. My husband ate his soup with a little fresh lemon squeezed into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
LOVED this soup! Good for you and so delicious. Didn't change a thing and thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States