Garlic Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This was a bit bland for us. I added a bay leaf, an onion, frozen cut okra, and some browned hamburger meat, but beef broth instead of chicken broth might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This turned out really good, but as usual, I had to change a few things! I didn't have any cabbage, so that was out, but instead I added an onion and some mushrooms. I also did not have any fresh garlic, so I added almost a teaspoon of garlic powder, and it was fine. I used 1/2 chicken and 1/2 vegetable broth, and cut the water down to two and a half cups. I added basil and oregano, and fresh parsely, too. It all turned out really tasty, but I think it would have been bland without my additions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Great recipe. I used vegetable broth in place of chicken, brown rice in place of the pasta and added a squirt or two of Bragg's at the end with the garlic. I'll make this again and again with various additions. Oh, I also completely left out the water and opted for an extra cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Used vegetable broth to make this a vegetarian meal and added an extra clove of garlic and half an onion. So delicious! Great for these cold winter days - thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This soup is tasty. I added extra garlic, also added onion, as well as lentils. I left out the pasta. You can personalize this soup to your liking and it will turn out great everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Really a welcomed addition to my recipe box. Would make it anytime and know my guests will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Great recipe. The broth is perfect. I was unsure about using cabbage but it works. I would add more types of veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Tasty soup. I used a full head of cabbage. Used whole-wheat macaroni spirals. My husband really likes this soup, and generally he doesn't request soup. The flavor of this soup is even more amazing after a day or two in the fridge. I served it with some Irish Brown Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
LOVED this soup! Good for you and so delicious. Didn't change a thing and thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Great base recipe - easy, healthy and very tasty. I played around with this and altered the base ingredients. I only needed 6 cups of fluid in total - 4 cups chicken stock, 1 and half of vegetbale stock and half a cup of red wine, 1 teaspoon of sugar helped to balance these changes. I sauteed the garlic with 1/4 of a large onion at the start, then added my other vegetables as per the recipe. Because I was going for a complete meal on a bowl, I added 2 skinless poached chicken breast halves. I poached in water flavoured with some red wine and 2 stock cubes. After chopping the chicken into bite size pieces, I added it half way through the simmering period. Delicious with soy and linseed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States