Garlic Teriyaki Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Very easy and tasty. I didn't have brown sugar so I used organic coconut palm sugar. We ate them hot as a side item with veggie stir fry over steamed rice and California sushi rolls. YUM! With the leftovers, I'm looking forward to snacking on the edamame cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I've been looking for something like a local sushi restaurant makes, this one comes pretty close. I've made it about 4 times and it always disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALILSWEETY
Photo by Lextya
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Had to improvise a bit since I had only 10 ounces of edamame instead of 16, but turned out great! :). Stir-fried some tofu on the side, steamed brown rice, and yummo! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lextya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
For those trying to eat the pod/shell, you don't. You pop them open and eat the soy beans out of them. When I first went to a Tempanyaki restaurant I didn't know what these were or how to eat them. I had a feeling we didn't eat the whole pod so I asked my sister and she showed me how to eat them lol. Yes it's easier to buy the beans already shelled but what fun is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I recently went for sushi and had their "garlic edamame." I thought, I need to make this! I made this with the frozen edamame in the pods. I used the sesame oil and added minced garlic I had on hand. For me the key was lots of garlic (about 2 TBL's.) I only used soy sauce (low sodium) and also put water in the pan. I did not measure it out. I simply sauteed the garlic in oil, then added soy and water and put in the edamame which was frozen. I also wanted the sauce thicker so I added some corn starch. The key for me to the flavor was time......... After 5 minutes, there was still not enough flavor. After 20 minutes, the flavor was infused in the pods. I also did add a couple of TBL's of brown sugar. It went over very well. Will make again, and thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Edamame beans are supposed to be eaten from the pod. Some people eat the pod, but personally they are too tough for me. This is a nice twist on ordinary soya sauce and rock salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This was good, but very sticky and messy to eat. Edamame is so good by itself that I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I'm a little confused as to how 1/4 c of water can cook a pound of edamame in the shell. I've always boiled edamame in a large amount of water, and the package itself suggests 6 cups of water! So anyway, I just boiled mine the usual way, then drained it and added the rest of the ingredients. It's okay, but I don't see that it's a huge improvement from regular edamame with salt and pepper. Thanks anyway, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great spin on edamame! How can you go wrong with teriyaki sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar and sesame oil? It was a bit messy to eat...but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was so good! I will definitely fix again. I did have trouble with the 1/4 cup of water not being enough to heat up the edamame, so I added more water and then had to end up draining it somewhat before adding the sauce ingredients. I added the sauce ingredients, but while waiting for the sauce to reduce, I was afraid the edamame was overcooking, so using the tongs, I removed them to a plate, and finished reducing the sauce by itself and once it was thick, I poured the sauce over the edamame and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. I also used what little part of sauce was left after devouring the edamame, to dip my sushi roll in (along with dipping the roll in soy sauce, too) and I thought it tasted great! The next time I have Sushi, I plan on trying to use this sauce to drizzle on plate around the sushi roll for presentation effects, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States