Garlic Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I scaled this recipe to 4 servings and increased the garlic substantially (used 2 cloves). It was really flavorful after sitting in the refrigerator a few hours. My wife and I both loved it on Ritz crackers. I used real butter which I think gave it a rather hard consistency. Next time I may try using whipped margarine instead. I don't think you can go wrong playing with this recipe and adjusting it to your individual liking.Good stuff Natalia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Artiste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkelman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
This was yummy, yummy, yummy. It came out the consistency of buttercream frosting, so it was very easy to spread on the bread. It is very light, and great for summer. You can taste all of the flavors, but it isn't overpowering. My 6 year old practically ate a loaf of bread herself with this spread. All the adults, and kids raved about it. This will definitely become a "family favorite." Thanks for the great recipe. I served this on french bread, along with "Best Italian Sausage Soup submitted by Perri Pender. The soup was sumptious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
AWESOME. Everybody wowed on it, people on diet, people who didn´t like cream cheese or garlic...it was a mayor hit and I was asked to make some more as a midnight snack!!! You will get the best compliment ever with this recipe! and is so easy to make, trust me you are going to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was awesome the first time I made it. But the second time I made it I sauted the garlic in the butter in a pan then mixed everything together (warm butter helped soften the cream cheese too) and it was absolutly great. Of course I added more garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I tossed everything in the food processed and processed until completely smooth. I was looking for more of a cream cheese flavor so I was disappointed that the butter was so strong. I served this on toasted bread slices topped with an olive tapenade so I couldn't really taste the butter unless I ate the spread by itself, so that's good. If I make this again for a bagel spread or something, I'll try halving or omitting the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I loved this spread sooo much! It was amazing on warm soft garlic bread. I added a little extra garlic and chopped the onion extra fine, but the recipe was quick and simple! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
taste just like my grandmother's recipe, although she adds puree garlic , minced onion flakes,garlic powder--but it taste great!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I cut this down to four servings and upped the garlic a bit. I also used the lower fat cream cheese (N-something, I can't spell it). I spread it on two leftover hoagie buns I split in half and stuck it under the broiler to warm/crisp it. Smells wonderful, makes me wish I weren't dieting. I'm serving it with the Skillet Bow Tie Pasta also from this site. EDITED: My kids loved this, my husband did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was SOOO good! I'm a huge fan of garlic, so I added an extra small clove and it was still super good. I used another reviewers advice and made it the night before to let the flavors meld. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
i think this requires much more garlic before it can really be considered a "garlic spread"! :) i added 4 cloves and it came out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States