Garlic Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Excellent! I admit I was a little scared of 3 tbsp of ginger, but it really does mellow out so go for the full amount. This fits perfectly into my diet - low calorie and low carb with a good amount of protein. I ended up adding an extra 2 cups of broth because the soup was really thick. Even then, this definitely is not 8 servings (unless you're planning on tiny bowls). I'd say this is 4 servings if you want a decent-sized portion - so 210cals. Still very healthy! The flavor was good as written, but i then added some sliced green onion for garnish and a couple dashes of fish sauce. This would also be excellent with a squirt of lime juice, or some thinly sliced jalapeno. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I used dry ginger spice, added fresh sliced green onions and omitted the noodles. Served with a squeeze of lime and fresh cilantro on top. Gave it a Vietnamese spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
i think i was expecting something more bold like a hot and sour soup with all the ginger.. it was a bit on the bland side for me.. this was alright as is but nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Really good! Great taste. I used udon noodles to accommodate a special diet in our home. I had to add a bit more broth, perhaps because the different noodles? LOVED IT, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Awesome! The broth is sooo flavorful! I add thinly sliced carrots, few shakes of soy sauce, and an extra cup of broth. Next time, I will add 2 extra cups of broth. Thank you for this delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So good, so comforting, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love this soup!!! I did change it up a little. Made it twice so far, first time I added carrots instead of zucchini and used gluten free noodles instead of cellophane noodles. I had to add 4 more cups of broth because of the noodles I used, but it was great. Second time, I poached my chicken breasts first then used the water from that (4 cups worth) and added 4 cups of boxed chicken broth. I doubled the garlic and ginger root because of the extra liquid. I used 1 cup of frozen peas instead of zucchini. I used 2 cups of shredded chicken and 4 cups of spinach and a box of gluten free shell pasta. I love this stuff!! better the second time with the increased garlic and ginger. Thank you for a great recipe that is also very flexible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The cellophane noodles did soak up all the soup, but I liked it better that way. I substituted tofu for the chicken and added mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but next time I will use more chicken broth or skip the cellophane noodles. I liked my first bowl so much, I went back for seconds and the noodles had soaked up ALL of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very good. I did substitute shrimp for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States