Garlic Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I used dry ginger spice, added fresh sliced green onions and omitted the noodles. Served with a squeeze of lime and fresh cilantro on top. Gave it a Vietnamese spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
i think i was expecting something more bold like a hot and sour soup with all the ginger.. it was a bit on the bland side for me.. this was alright as is but nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Really good! Great taste. I used udon noodles to accommodate a special diet in our home. I had to add a bit more broth, perhaps because the different noodles? LOVED IT, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Awesome! The broth is sooo flavorful! I add thinly sliced carrots, few shakes of soy sauce, and an extra cup of broth. Next time, I will add 2 extra cups of broth. Thank you for this delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So good, so comforting, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love this soup!!! I did change it up a little. Made it twice so far, first time I added carrots instead of zucchini and used gluten free noodles instead of cellophane noodles. I had to add 4 more cups of broth because of the noodles I used, but it was great. Second time, I poached my chicken breasts first then used the water from that (4 cups worth) and added 4 cups of boxed chicken broth. I doubled the garlic and ginger root because of the extra liquid. I used 1 cup of frozen peas instead of zucchini. I used 2 cups of shredded chicken and 4 cups of spinach and a box of gluten free shell pasta. I love this stuff!! better the second time with the increased garlic and ginger. Thank you for a great recipe that is also very flexible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The cellophane noodles did soak up all the soup, but I liked it better that way. I substituted tofu for the chicken and added mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but next time I will use more chicken broth or skip the cellophane noodles. I liked my first bowl so much, I went back for seconds and the noodles had soaked up ALL of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very good. I did substitute shrimp for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
What a great healthy soup, and it was a big surprise in taste. My whole family loved it. I always have homemade chicken broth in the freezer for soup -- it's much, much better than canned (see my review for chicken broth). To this soup, I added half of a chopped onion, cracked pepper, sea salt, fresh basil, and a combination of chopped zucchini and yellow squash. I had all the ingredients onhand, except for cellophane noodles (so this was omitted) and fresh ginger (so I used small amount of ground ginger), which didn't seem to compromise the flavor. We'll make this often. Note: Especially good for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States