Garlic Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I used dry ginger spice, added fresh sliced green onions and omitted the noodles. Served with a squeeze of lime and fresh cilantro on top. Gave it a Vietnamese spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
i think i was expecting something more bold like a hot and sour soup with all the ginger.. it was a bit on the bland side for me.. this was alright as is but nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Really good! Great taste. I used udon noodles to accommodate a special diet in our home. I had to add a bit more broth, perhaps because the different noodles? LOVED IT, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Awesome! The broth is sooo flavorful! I add thinly sliced carrots, few shakes of soy sauce, and an extra cup of broth. Next time, I will add 2 extra cups of broth. Thank you for this delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So good, so comforting, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love this soup!!! I did change it up a little. Made it twice so far, first time I added carrots instead of zucchini and used gluten free noodles instead of cellophane noodles. I had to add 4 more cups of broth because of the noodles I used, but it was great. Second time, I poached my chicken breasts first then used the water from that (4 cups worth) and added 4 cups of boxed chicken broth. I doubled the garlic and ginger root because of the extra liquid. I used 1 cup of frozen peas instead of zucchini. I used 2 cups of shredded chicken and 4 cups of spinach and a box of gluten free shell pasta. I love this stuff!! better the second time with the increased garlic and ginger. Thank you for a great recipe that is also very flexible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The cellophane noodles did soak up all the soup, but I liked it better that way. I substituted tofu for the chicken and added mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but next time I will use more chicken broth or skip the cellophane noodles. I liked my first bowl so much, I went back for seconds and the noodles had soaked up ALL of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very good. I did substitute shrimp for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
What a great healthy soup, and it was a big surprise in taste. My whole family loved it. I always have homemade chicken broth in the freezer for soup -- it's much, much better than canned (see my review for chicken broth). To this soup, I added half of a chopped onion, cracked pepper, sea salt, fresh basil, and a combination of chopped zucchini and yellow squash. I had all the ingredients onhand, except for cellophane noodles (so this was omitted) and fresh ginger (so I used small amount of ground ginger), which didn't seem to compromise the flavor. We'll make this often. Note: Especially good for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States