Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
For me a recipe is more of a guideline than a rule, so I did make a few changes. I added additional curry spices, and I did sautee them with the garlic and onion. I used natural peanut butter and coconut milk, instead of the tahini and heavy cream, respectively, as per another reviewer's suggestion. I blended the soup when the potatoes were soft, before I added the spinach. I omitted the corn meal. This will go into my regular rotation, it is delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This tastes amazing! I used collard greens instead of spinach. I added the collard greens when I added the potatoes so they would cook long enough. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I would blend everything before the last step of adding the spinach. As written, the different textures together are strange. Also, I did not add any additional salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious and quick and easy to make. This was rich and flavorful, and I will definitely be making many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is tasty! Also very easy. The play of the creaminess and the spice from the cream and cayenne is great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow; if I could do six stars then I would. I used chicken and beef bouillon for this, used evaporated milk instead of cream and used a LOT of spinach but did everything else by the book. This soup is AWESOME! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
It has such a good flavor, warm and delicious! I too followed other recommendations such as using corn STARCH instead of corn MEAL (extremely important) and adding the cumin & coriander to the raw onions before sauteeing. I used Knorr Homestyle vegetable stock (concentrated, sold in a 4-pack of little tubs) - just dissolve two tubs into 7 cups of boiling water - fabulous, so much more flavor than broth in a can/box. We'll definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this one of my favorite recipes orginally found from a vegetarian cookbook. i like to add couple cans of snows minced and chopped clams to the mix and my friends and i really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this recipe as written other than subbing corn starch for corn meal (I think that was a mistype) and using 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and adding a small amount of smoked paprika. Very comforting. Look forward to seeing what the leftovers taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States