Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I wasn't sure if you should blend the soup or not. I slightly blended the soup and then added the spinich and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
blended it completely including spinach and it tasted quite yummy. nice and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
We all LOVE this recipie. I make a nice crusty bread and it's gone in a day. Totally awesome. Highly recommended, and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Really great soup! Added a little extra seasoning and substituted corn starch for the corn meal and skim milk for the heavy cream. I did not blend the soup at all. Turned out to be a thick and creamy soup. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Delicious! I made a few changes. Here is my version CHICKPEA SOUP 2 Tbsp water 2 tsp each minced garlic, cumin & coriander 1 onion, coarsely chopped 5 cups chicken broth 3 potatoes, peeled & chopped 15oz garbanzo beans, drained 1 cup milk 2 Tbsp each peanut butter & corn meal or cornstarch 6oz fresh spinach, stems removed & chopped Cayenne pepper & salt to taste Cook garlic and onion in 2 Tbsp water in large pot over medium heat until tender. Add stock, potatoes, cumin and coriander; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer about 10 minutes. Add beans; continue to cook until potatoes are tender. Whisk together milk, peanut butter and corn meal. Mix into the soup. Stir in spinach. Season with cayenne pepper and salt. Continue to cook until spinach is heated through. Yield: 6 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Just what the doctor ordered! Both my husband and I are sick with the flu and he wanted some spinach. I made this and it hit the spot! I only had whole coriander, so I just crushed it up as well as possible and added to the soup. I also didn't have tahini so I just ground up sesame seeds and added some lemon juice to it and mixed it in with fat free half and half (instead of heavy cream). I also used a pound of frozen spinach and added some extra water. Instead of using vegatable stock, I added chicken broth and it gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A lovely mild, but flavorful soup. I substituted the cream with 2% milk and the cornmeal with corn starch, as someone else recommended, which worked very well. I used fresh spinich from my garden, but I'm sure that frozen would work well too. I also ground my spices from whole and finely chopped the garlic instead of crushing it. I'll be making this regularly. Perfect for a rainy evening. I'm taking it to work for lunch tomorrow too. I did want to note that the recipe called for combining/mixing (blending) the cream, tahini, and cornmeal, not blending the entire soup. Half of the fun of eating this is the textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I love this soup! I added red peppers which make the soup very colorful and tasty. It's one of my husband and my mother-in-laws favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I made this soup last night and it was hearty and perfect for a cold winter's night. I only made a few changes - I added a lot more garlic, couldn't find any coriander, added half a cup of sour cream and half a cup of reduced fat milk instead of heavy cream, and that's it. Next time I might add more vegetables - broccoli, cauliflower, carrots. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe! I used chicken stock instead of veg, peanut butter instead of tahini, and half skim milk/half cream to cut the calories. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States