Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I have the original cookbook from which this recipe was taken - it's been modified a bit here from the source. The original calls out 2/3 cup of heavy (whipping) cream, not 1 cup. And as you might have guessed, the "corn meal" is a typo, that should be corn starch. The prep time has been understated a little - don't underestimate the time required to chop 4 cloves, 1 onion and _finely_ chop 3 potatoes. This is a wonderful soup, always a huge hit with guests. Be careful with the cayenne pepper though! 1/2 tsp with a full recipe will make it plenty spicy, add more at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Really great soup! Added a little extra seasoning and substituted corn starch for the corn meal and skim milk for the heavy cream. I did not blend the soup at all. Turned out to be a thick and creamy soup. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe! I used chicken stock instead of veg, peanut butter instead of tahini, and half skim milk/half cream to cut the calories. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did make a change, based on spices on hand. I used turmeric instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I wasn't sure if you should blend the soup or not. I slightly blended the soup and then added the spinich and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I made this soup last night and it was hearty and perfect for a cold winter's night. I only made a few changes - I added a lot more garlic, couldn't find any coriander, added half a cup of sour cream and half a cup of reduced fat milk instead of heavy cream, and that's it. Next time I might add more vegetables - broccoli, cauliflower, carrots. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I love this soup! I added red peppers which make the soup very colorful and tasty. It's one of my husband and my mother-in-laws favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Outstanding! Added more cumin and coriander for a fuller flavor; used 5 cups chicken consomme, lite coconut milk, the leftovers of simple roasted chickpeas and frozen spinach (didn't fully defrost or cook - just plopped the frozen chunk into the hot liquid). Would add more spinach next time. And there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made with cornstarch, canned potatoes, cannelini beans, and frozen spinach.1/2 tspn cayenne was too spicy, would add less next time. Felt it tasted a little too 'powdery', like the cumin wasn't cooked properly (would suggest adding cumin immediately to onions & garlic to help the powder flavor of the cumin cook out). I'm Indian and have cooked with ground cumin and ground coriander quite a bit and should have known better. Overall, a pretty good recipe, healthy, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
We made this one night for a vegetarian friend and were addicted at the first bite! Even my Dad, a meatatarian eats it every time. I'm not sure why people think it should be cornstarch, we have used corn meal every time and it adds to the flavor. Also you have to make sure the spinach is cooked all the way, and we have frequently ground up sesame seeds and added a few drops of sesame seed oil when we couldn't find tahini. Wealways serve the soup and let everyone add their own cayenne pepper to their preference, this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States