Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We served this at our church soup night and it was a sensation. Great taste. Will serve it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Totally boring, until we jazzed it up with fresh lemon juice and a generous shake of cayenne! The soup looks beautiful (the spinach doesn't "float" like another review said if you let it cook all the way) and has lots of potential--but we'll add Italian sausage or bacon to the leftovers to make it more substantial. Thanks for a good soup starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I have the original cookbook from which this recipe was taken - it's been modified a bit here from the source. The original calls out 2/3 cup of heavy (whipping) cream, not 1 cup. And as you might have guessed, the "corn meal" is a typo, that should be corn starch. The prep time has been understated a little - don't underestimate the time required to chop 4 cloves, 1 onion and _finely_ chop 3 potatoes. This is a wonderful soup, always a huge hit with guests. Be careful with the cayenne pepper though! 1/2 tsp with a full recipe will make it plenty spicy, add more at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Great soup! I followed other reviewers' advice and used 1 cup skim milk and 2 T cornstarch instead of cream and corn meal and I ended up with a very thick, rich soup. I used an immersion blender at the end to smooth the texture a bit as well. I didn't have tahini so I did as others suggested and used peanut butter but I didn't particularly like that flavor so I think next time I'll either try to find tahini or skip it altogether. This recipe is definitely a keeper - makes a lot but stays good in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I thought this was great. Used frozen chopped spinach because I didn't like the look of the huge leaves floating around in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Nice flavor - very garlicky, but not a soup that left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I thought this was very bland. Just didn't do anything for me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Excellent! Didn't have coriander, so skipped it, used skim milk. Used peanut butter rather than tahini but it was still remarkable. A unique combination of flavors--thanks so much for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This is very tasty! I blended the soup to make more creamy and topped with parmesan cheese. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I thought this soup was super. The only thing I didn't have on hand was the tahini. I figured it was for thickening the soup so I just made a slurry. It had great floavor and the corriander gave it a great finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States