Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Nice flavor - very garlicky, but not a soup that left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I thought this was very bland. Just didn't do anything for me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Excellent! Didn't have coriander, so skipped it, used skim milk. Used peanut butter rather than tahini but it was still remarkable. A unique combination of flavors--thanks so much for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This is very tasty! I blended the soup to make more creamy and topped with parmesan cheese. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I thought this soup was super. The only thing I didn't have on hand was the tahini. I figured it was for thickening the soup so I just made a slurry. It had great floavor and the corriander gave it a great finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I thought this soup was only so-so. Even though I didn't add any salt to the soup, it tasted quite salty. I too used reduced fat milk in place of the heavy cream. It really wasn't very thick, at least with the milk instead of cream. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I made this soup last night and it was hearty and perfect for a cold winter's night. I only made a few changes - I added a lot more garlic, couldn't find any coriander, added half a cup of sour cream and half a cup of reduced fat milk instead of heavy cream, and that's it. Next time I might add more vegetables - broccoli, cauliflower, carrots. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
We all LOVE this recipie. I make a nice crusty bread and it's gone in a day. Totally awesome. Highly recommended, and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe! I used chicken stock instead of veg, peanut butter instead of tahini, and half skim milk/half cream to cut the calories. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Just what the doctor ordered! Both my husband and I are sick with the flu and he wanted some spinach. I made this and it hit the spot! I only had whole coriander, so I just crushed it up as well as possible and added to the soup. I also didn't have tahini so I just ground up sesame seeds and added some lemon juice to it and mixed it in with fat free half and half (instead of heavy cream). I also used a pound of frozen spinach and added some extra water. Instead of using vegatable stock, I added chicken broth and it gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States