Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wow, did I underestimate this soup! It was absolutely delicious! I normally use canned coconut milk instead of cream, half and half or milk, and it lent a nice exotic flavor with the tahini, chickpeas and coriander. I used corn starch instead of meal, can't imagine using that, as other reviewers suggested. I've used tons of recipes off of this site and this is a big suprizer- one of the best yet. I lazily added garlic pwder instead of fresh. This blew our socks off! Thanks so much for the great recipe, it's to die for~:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
i substituted yogurt for the cream and its delicious. great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made with cornstarch, canned potatoes, cannelini beans, and frozen spinach.1/2 tspn cayenne was too spicy, would add less next time. Felt it tasted a little too 'powdery', like the cumin wasn't cooked properly (would suggest adding cumin immediately to onions & garlic to help the powder flavor of the cumin cook out). I'm Indian and have cooked with ground cumin and ground coriander quite a bit and should have known better. Overall, a pretty good recipe, healthy, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I found this to be oddly bland, and my husband hated it. Since I had a LOT left over, I tried adding a lot more spinach and doubling the spices, which made it good enough to eat, but not really very good. I did, of course, know to use cornstarch. I also think the spinach needs to be cooked, rather than warmed. I did not serve the uncooked spinach, so that wasn't why my husband found it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I ditto Kym's review below, as she said it well. Very little zip in this, needed much more cumin and garlic, and was missing something. May sound wierd, but CILANTRO, which is the leaves of coriander, may be what is missing; I did not like the ground coriander, but cilantro is paired with these ingredients many times in my Middle-Eastern cookbook. Reminder, too, that corn meal should be cornSTARCH, which I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Loved this soup; next time I might try regular milk instead of cream to make it a little less fattening, but it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I did not have some ingredients on hand, had reduced fat peanut butter and fat free milk...seemed to work out well. I blended half of the soup when the potatoes were tender. Good soup but was missing something, husband suggested shredded chicken.....several times =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
very delicious and garlicy once you add enough salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I like it, but I have to add salt individually to each bowl to really give it flavor--so make sure to add enough to the pot at the end. I didn't have coriander, so I replaced it with allspice and oregano and it tastes fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
First time I made soup and it was a SUCCESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States