Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did make a change, based on spices on hand. I used turmeric instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Outstanding! Added more cumin and coriander for a fuller flavor; used 5 cups chicken consomme, lite coconut milk, the leftovers of simple roasted chickpeas and frozen spinach (didn't fully defrost or cook - just plopped the frozen chunk into the hot liquid). Would add more spinach next time. And there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This soup is good without rocking my world. I substantially followed the recipe, with only minor changes, including cornstarch instead of corn meal and low fat condensed milk in place of heavy cream. I think the texture benefited from partially pureeing it and the lemon juice suggested by another reviewer was a good enhancement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wow, did I underestimate this soup! It was absolutely delicious! I normally use canned coconut milk instead of cream, half and half or milk, and it lent a nice exotic flavor with the tahini, chickpeas and coriander. I used corn starch instead of meal, can't imagine using that, as other reviewers suggested. I've used tons of recipes off of this site and this is a big suprizer- one of the best yet. I lazily added garlic pwder instead of fresh. This blew our socks off! Thanks so much for the great recipe, it's to die for~:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
i substituted yogurt for the cream and its delicious. great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made with cornstarch, canned potatoes, cannelini beans, and frozen spinach.1/2 tspn cayenne was too spicy, would add less next time. Felt it tasted a little too 'powdery', like the cumin wasn't cooked properly (would suggest adding cumin immediately to onions & garlic to help the powder flavor of the cumin cook out). I'm Indian and have cooked with ground cumin and ground coriander quite a bit and should have known better. Overall, a pretty good recipe, healthy, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I found this to be oddly bland, and my husband hated it. Since I had a LOT left over, I tried adding a lot more spinach and doubling the spices, which made it good enough to eat, but not really very good. I did, of course, know to use cornstarch. I also think the spinach needs to be cooked, rather than warmed. I did not serve the uncooked spinach, so that wasn't why my husband found it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I ditto Kym's review below, as she said it well. Very little zip in this, needed much more cumin and garlic, and was missing something. May sound wierd, but CILANTRO, which is the leaves of coriander, may be what is missing; I did not like the ground coriander, but cilantro is paired with these ingredients many times in my Middle-Eastern cookbook. Reminder, too, that corn meal should be cornSTARCH, which I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Loved this soup; next time I might try regular milk instead of cream to make it a little less fattening, but it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I did not have some ingredients on hand, had reduced fat peanut butter and fat free milk...seemed to work out well. I blended half of the soup when the potatoes were tender. Good soup but was missing something, husband suggested shredded chicken.....several times =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States