Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
So delicious! I also added a pinch of celery seed, yellow curry, and chili flakes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
If you like it thicker, it might help to blend the potatoes before adding. We liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Used more garlic, sweet potato as I had no regular potatoes and blended it. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixi Nicol
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious--added lots of lemon juice, carrots, and almond butter instead of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had "some" fresh spinach that I added to the onions and garlic step to precook based on certain reviews. I think it was less than half. I did 8 small-medium potatoes and cooked garbanzzo beans from dry. I think my dh will not like, my 4 year old doesn't like but i think it is passable. Tahini taste is a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
We made this one night for a vegetarian friend and were addicted at the first bite! Even my Dad, a meatatarian eats it every time. I'm not sure why people think it should be cornstarch, we have used corn meal every time and it adds to the flavor. Also you have to make sure the spinach is cooked all the way, and we have frequently ground up sesame seeds and added a few drops of sesame seed oil when we couldn't find tahini. Wealways serve the soup and let everyone add their own cayenne pepper to their preference, this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did make a change, based on spices on hand. I used turmeric instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Outstanding! Added more cumin and coriander for a fuller flavor; used 5 cups chicken consomme, lite coconut milk, the leftovers of simple roasted chickpeas and frozen spinach (didn't fully defrost or cook - just plopped the frozen chunk into the hot liquid). Would add more spinach next time. And there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This soup is good without rocking my world. I substantially followed the recipe, with only minor changes, including cornstarch instead of corn meal and low fat condensed milk in place of heavy cream. I think the texture benefited from partially pureeing it and the lemon juice suggested by another reviewer was a good enhancement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wow, did I underestimate this soup! It was absolutely delicious! I normally use canned coconut milk instead of cream, half and half or milk, and it lent a nice exotic flavor with the tahini, chickpeas and coriander. I used corn starch instead of meal, can't imagine using that, as other reviewers suggested. I've used tons of recipes off of this site and this is a big suprizer- one of the best yet. I lazily added garlic pwder instead of fresh. This blew our socks off! Thanks so much for the great recipe, it's to die for~:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States