Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious soup. I fried the garlic only until golden, but the soup was still rich in flavour. Word of advice though, do whisk the eggs briskly into the soup and keep whisking until the soup is cloudy, otherwise it ends up looking a tad bit... disgusting. And that is a shame, because it is a fantastic tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I love garlic but this soup was bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This soup is fabulous. I used a large can of good brand chopped tomatoes. I also used a cup of the juice from those and only 5 cups of water. Thanks to TLYONS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
So, after everyone stopped complaining that I had a dish with Cauliflower in it and actually tasted it, everyone liked it. I made exactly as layed out. Beware the portions listed in this recipe only yields about four soup bowls about 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Pretty good. Maybe a little too much egg. Husband didn't like the tomatoes in it, but I thought they added something unique. It had a nice flavor. Not too strong, but definitely not weak. I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Used chicken stock, 2 medium sized potatoes, 6 heads of garlic, and 4 chicken thighs. Also, various greens and a can of mixed vegetables right before serving. And left out the egg. Was the best chicken soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
this was delicious! and so easy..instead of crushing the garlic, i just chopped up a half cups worth of garlic and saute'd it..also, i substituted a 48 oz. box of chicken broth for the water and granules. i also chopped up 3 roma tomatoes..i felt it needed that much. topped it off with chopped green onion..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
i added some chopped onion and celery and a lot more garlic and one more egg, but this recipe was DELICIOUS. made it for my girlfriend for valentines day (she loves everything garlic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So simple, yet sooooo good. It was just what I was looking for. I used a bulb of garlic and some jarred garlic as well. I substituted olive oil for the butter and put in 8 chicken bouillon cubes, used some canned diced tomatoes and put in some gnocci about 10 minutes before serving. Sooooo good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this soup yesterday to help get over the bug that’s been plaguing me. It doesn’t look appetizing but it’s very good (however, I wasn’t hungry for a 2nd bowl immediately… it’s more of an appetizer). I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups of vegetable brother (chicken broth shortage). For those who called the soup bland, I don’t think they prepared the garlic right. If it isn’t cut up enough, you won’t get the flavour out. I crushed then minced the garlic. For those who are wondering ½ cup of garlic is about 2 complete flours of garlic minced (which is the amount I used). So… yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States