Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I made mine with chicken broth instead of water and bouillon cubes. I also added some fresh spinach right at the end, really good.- LNP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I must admit, the first time someone suggested I try garlic soup, I thought it sounded awful. I tried it a few years ago at a tapas restaurant, and though it was delicious, I promptly forgot all about it. Recently a coworker brought a huge bag of peeled garlic into work that she was trying to get rid of (after purchasing way too much at Costco!). I brought home about 30 bulbs of peeled garlic not knowing what the heck I was going to do with it - then I remembered garlic soup. Came across this recipe, but I used chicken stock instead of bouillon, and tossed in all of the extra garlic I had. It was just wonderful. Reminded me exactly of the soup I had tasted at the expensive tapas restaurant....and cooks up in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I really enjoyed this quick garlic soup. By cooking the garlic for a long time, the flavor mellows out instead of the strong garlic taste some people expect from garlic soup. I added a small amount of thyme and rosemary to this with pepper and salt and it was fabulous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was fab... I make this recipe a lot. You can all ways add your own special ingredents. I used spinach, mushrooms,more chicken gradules etc. This is really just like egg drop soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
wonderful soup, maybe next time ill try onion with it, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this soup yesterday to help get over the bug that’s been plaguing me. It doesn’t look appetizing but it’s very good (however, I wasn’t hungry for a 2nd bowl immediately… it’s more of an appetizer). I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups of vegetable brother (chicken broth shortage). For those who called the soup bland, I don’t think they prepared the garlic right. If it isn’t cut up enough, you won’t get the flavour out. I crushed then minced the garlic. For those who are wondering ½ cup of garlic is about 2 complete flours of garlic minced (which is the amount I used). So… yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I usually don't comment but this was bland and tasteless enough to take the time to tell other people not to waste their time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
As is, it was a little bland. I added about 5 oz of frozen spinach and lots of other spices, (ome sort of Paris bland and tarragon and parsley.) Then it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent! It is so pretty looking with the strings of egg and topped with green onion. I also added a squeeze of lemon. I'm home ill today and I know that the garlic in this soup will fix me right up. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domb bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States