Garlic Shrimp Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I am giving this sauce four stars because it gave me the basics that I needed to create a truly gourmet sauce. Like previous reviewers I had to add much more quantity than called for. I used 1 1/2 sticks of butter, 3/4 cup of dry white wine, a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil, 4 cloves of garlic and 1/3 cup of grated Asiago cheese (be sure to use the good cheese, I tried using the cheap stuff once and instead of melting it just congealed into a big ball in the sauce - this never happened with good quality Asiago). I also add 1 tsp. each of dried basil and oregano. I also use mushrooms too. If you like it spicy try using a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. This makes a decadent sauce that my brother says he dreams about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
705 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very bland unless you add 4 TBS butter, 1/4 cup wine, 4 cloves garlic, 1-2 TBS lemon juice and do NOT put the cheese in as you are making the sauce (I added about 1/4 cup cheese). Toss it with the pasta after or you will have a congealed messy blob. I prefer basil to parsley but both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I tried this recipe tonight for dinner. EVERYONE LOVED IT! I did what others suggested and increased the sauce ingredients. (sauce ingredients x6)and 1 1/2 lbs. of linguine. Only complaint was they wanted more sauce to dip their bread in. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I also doubled the ingredients to make more sauce. But WOW, my shrimp were very flavourful and lovely. I used 6 cloves of garlic as well. I would suggest that you don't use pre cooked shrimp. Cooking the shrimp in the sauce takes only minutes and the shrimp absorb the flavour much nicer this way. We also COVERED it with fresh parm! Make this recipe, you will enjoy it! Update: I have cooked this over 10 times now. I still use tons of garlic. And now I add a bunch of cream to it as well. Yes, even more fattening. However, it is delicious this way. The cream helps hold together all of the ingredients so they don't just sink to the bottom. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Love Red Lobster?? This is better than anything I've ever had at Red Lobster!! My husband took one bite and said, "Have you tasted this yet?" I told him no, and kind of looked at him, he exclaimed,"This is delicious!!". My whole family loved it!! Make sure that you triple the sauce amount when feeding more than two people. (and make sure you grab the large bottle of white wine as it goes great with this dinner!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I've used these ingredients for MANY years for my own scampi & have saved A LOT of $ NOT ordering it in restaurants, and mine's better! I also add chopped fresh tomatoes to mine and prefer asiago or locatelli cheese to parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlemsg1
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Yum, Yum, Yummy! This recipe is a keeper. The only reason that it did not get five stars is because I had to tweak the sauce, but that was easy to do. I liked it and so did my husband. Served with Ceaser salad and Cheddar cheese garlic biscuits. Easy and quick to fix. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemsg1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was a bit dry. After seeing how dry it would be, I made an extra batch of sauce. I quadrupled (4X) the butter, wine, and parmesan. I only doubled the garlic. Make sure that the wine is a good table wine. The next time I make it, I won't put the parmesan in with the sauce. Most of it stuck to the bottom. We all enjoyed it very much after adding additional sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
My husband & I absolutely loved this dish! I did have to triple the sauce so there would be enough to cover the pasta. This is a perfect weeknight dinner, very quick & easy! The presentation was wonderful as well. This is a keeper, thanks Stacey for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Oh my, I felt a bit Italian after making this divine dish. Who knew cooking could be this easy and fast!!! Whole family enjoyed I will definitely use again & again. I also had to triple the recipe for the sauce. We like our pasta covered in sauce. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States