Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I LOVE garlic scape pesto. So much, that this is my first reveiw! I made this recipe, though I was not exact about the measurements, as I just used all the garlic scapes I had. I don't think you can go wrong--but it's spicy, in the garlicky way! If it's to spicy for you, you can blanch the garlic scapes first. Also, this keeps in the freezer. I put it in 8 oz canning jars, filled 1/2 from top and freeze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I agree that it has a different texture than basil pesto. It was good on pasta and I also mixed a little into some chicken salad. It kept covered in the fridge for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
It has a different texture than basil pesto but the flavor was good. I added chopped walnuts. Did'nt have pinenuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Incredible pesto--I made several large batches and froze them--they thaw just beautifully. GREAT for having with pasta dishes or just spread on fresh, warm bread in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is incredibly easy and so delicious. Great as a dip. Though I can't wait to serve it on grilled pork loin chops. So fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was very good and a very easy way to use up the garlic scapes from my CSA. I added sunflower seeds b/c I like the pine nuts in my usual basil pesto and wanted something similar in this. It came out delicious, was easy to make, and went very well over whole wheat pasta with some turkey meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Garlic lovers, this is the recipe for you! Follow it exactly as it is written. We have always made the traditional pesto with basil, parsley and pinenuts; we won't be making that anymore. This recipe far surpasses any pesto we have ever had. We had enough scapes to make 2 1/2 batches and all are tucked away in the freezer where many will be given as Christmas gifts. We used fresh lemon juice as some people are allergic to sulfites that are contained in bottled juice; and a lovely black Malabar pepper. Thanks to whomever came up with this recipe. June 2014; a year later. Just cut the scapes and starting this pesto. I froze what we didnt use last summer in cute little jars and gave them as Christmas presents and birthday gifts throughout the year. Everyone has requested that they be repeated this year. Guess we will have to grow more garlic to satisfy everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe!! I ended up adding about 1/4 cup of walnuts and a little more oil and cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have to admit, this recipe wasn't my favorite. I had never used garlic scapes before, and I doubt I will again. Scapes are quite tough and the resulting purée remained slightly chunky, even with additional olive oil. I served the pesto over spaghetti and had to eat some of it on toasted baguette to cut the intensity. It's REALLY garlicky and super strong. I think it might be good if you turned it into a cream sauce or added it to other dishes as a garlic replacement, but as a straight-up pesto, I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Fantastic. Completely subbed as a lower fat, much more flavor substitute for mayo on sandwiches. Great with pasta. I only wish I had made more than a pint. Next season, I will definitely make much more and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States