Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used drums only, as that is what I had on hand. It was so simple to throw together. I actually forgot the final step of the syrup but we loved it as it was. We are garlic lovers so this was great. Oh, I didn't have fresh cloves so I used jarred minced garlic. We didn't get to spread the garlic over the chicken but it baked into the drums and then covered the potatoes!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was delicious and so easy! Thanks for sharing. I'm going to add a little more detail. I had a 4 pack of chicken thighs I wanted to use, so that's what I used instead what it called for. I only had a small square brownie type pan, so I used that instead of a roasting pan. I used one whole garlic cluster, separated and peeled, about 14 cloves or so. I had to bake it 20 extra minutes to get the thermometer to 165. I don't think it needed all that garlic, not that it hurt it at all, but you really only got the garlic taste by smooshing the cloves onto the chicken at the end, and each piece used about 2 cloves. It turned out great and the potatoes were to die for! I didn't have to add any salt once to them on my plate (which is unusual for me) and they were so buttery! I will be adding this dish to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maranatha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Ya'll, this is totally off the hook. The only changes I made were to add two sweet potatoes and to omit the maple syrup. I would have LOVED it, but hubby has a problem with sugary-sweetness in meat dishes, but he loves sweet potatoes. It was fantabulous! I had five very picky boys in the house and the table was quiet! I know, right? That alone should speak for itself. I am putting this into my weekly rotation. The potatoes are addicting and so delicious! It was super easy to assemble, too. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Osbourne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a very mild dish. I added a few carrots, an onion, and replaced the legs with tenders because we won't eat dark meat. Tenders also cook faster than bone in meat. If we make this again, I will try some sweet potatoes, a side of butternut squash and more spice for the meat. As an aside, this is naturally gluten free if you use GF spices, and so forth. I love recipes with simple, natural ingredients. This was quick to assemble, and I was able to make a batch of No Bake Cookies V while it baked. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was good. I cut the recipe in half because I only needed to feed three. I did keep the butter at 1/4 cup, because there would not have been enough to coat the pan otherwise. At the end, I took the roasted garlic out with tongs and put them through my garlic press into a bowl. I stirred it and then spread it on the chicken with a knife. I put the potatoes in the serving bowl first and put my left over garlic in the bowl and distributed it through the potatoes with a spoon then I dished up the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Just wonderful, not only was the chicken excellent, the vegetables were a huge hit. I added carrots like some of the other raters here and they were great! Definitely adding to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was quite good. My wife showed up with some chicken legs and gave up before her first Christmas dinner (I've been doing it 6 out of 6 years now.) Live in Japan and only have a mini oven so wasn't sure how this would turn out. No garlic cloves, so substituted for about 60 shakes of garlic powder and added some rosemary. My oven needed about 20 extra minutes to brown it. My picky kids ate it up! Thanks for the simplest recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this for the first time today and it was completely easy and absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but left the chicken and potatoes in the oven for an extra 10 minutes to make sure they were done (I couldn't find my thermometer). As a vegetable, I added plain green beans and I spooned some droppings over them. Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Easy and quick. Tasted great. Kids and husband couldn't get enough. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We loved this chicken, had a friend over and she absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States