Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I used boneless skinless chicken breast, I omitted the maple syrup. I added sage, rosemary and thyme, I used crushed garlic 1 1/2 TBSP and added it to the butter. I added carrots. I baked covered for 1/2 hour,uncovered 1/2 hour. I basted after I removed the foil and basted again after 15 minutes uncovered. Perfect! Potatoes were soft, carrots cooked well but not mushy. Great recipe! Next time I may use broth and omit the butter all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I would have given this 5 stars had the directions been accurate. I did only drumsticks (not the whole leg/thigh) and had to cook the chicken for much, much longer than 40 minutes (almost 90 minutes!!!) before it was cooked through and up to the proper temp. Otherwise, it was delicious. I added sweet potato, carrot, butternut squash, a quartered onion and two sprigs of fresh rosemary. Also sprinkled the chicken with a little poultry seasoning at the very beginning. I will definitely make this again, but I'll start the chicken much farther in advance of the vegetables. I ended up having to put the chicken in its own pan and pull the veggies out, otherwise, I would have had mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I was not at all impressed with this recipe but was intrigued by the combination of flavors with the addition of maple syrup. Really, people.... garlic and maple syrup? Yuck. Do yourselves a flavor and keep to the savory flavors. In addition to the garlic, add chopped rosemary, lemon zest. A bit of cumin, maybe, and some red pepper flakes. I made the recipe as is.... The chicken really did not have much flavor. Thank goodness for the potatoes, tho.... they were the main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Had to cook a lot longer than 40+20 minutes. In all, it took about 1.5 hours to cook to temp. The chicken really didn't have any flavor even with the maple syrup and garlic added at the end. The veg (I did potatoes and carrots) were very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDAPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
My husband loved this. Because he will not eat dark meat, I used chicken breast which I pounded to make tender. I added chicken brother to the pan to make up for the missing "juices". Instead of black pepper, I used red pepper flakes to add some spice to the sweetness of the syrup. Next time I think I will roast some garlic separately just to make it easier to spread the garlic on the chicken. The more garlic the better is my motto. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinzie1125
Home Town: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this with onions and carrots....I only had two cloves of garlic left so I used Minced garlic too....rubbing those two cloves on the chicken afterwards made SUCH a difference. we LOVED it!!! It was a huge hit in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was DELICIOUS!! Added some Italian seasonings to it for an extra kick of flavor, peeled the garlic (I didn't want to deal with it later), and only used about a tbsp of maple syrup - AMAZING! This will be worked in to the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowergirl21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Simple, fast and delicious! What is better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Loved it. Made 4 skinless bone-in breasts and 4 leg quarters. It was a big hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States