Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
HUBBY says: "Spice it up!" He ate a whole breast, leg, and wing, but apparently there was not enough garlic and pepper for him. HUBBY said "This would be great with cajun seasoning!" This would be a great recipe for someone with a part-time job who likes to try to do new things with poultry. Follow the time and temperature directions; if you do your chicken will be very moist. I used chicken stock instead of wine or broth, and the meat was extra savory. Prep rating: ***** Super easy! Cooking method: ***** You can't go wrong with a roasted bird. I watched an episode of LOST while it cooked. So simple. Taste: **** It could be spicier. Clean-up: *** Few dishes to wash, but cleaning a roasting pan is never fun. I will make this again, but with more PEPPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was a very good roast chicken recipe! It came out tender and falling off the bones, just the way I like it. To make it even more sinfully delicious, I rubbed some butter, fresh pepper, minced garlic and thyme underneath the skin of the chicken. I also broiled it without a lid for a few minutes when it was finished and it made the skin nice and crispy on top. I will definately make this recipe again. It's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This chicken was one of the most tender ones I've ever had, and very moist. The suggested cook time was just perfect, too. When it got to 180 degrees, I took it out of the oven, transferred it to a platter and covered tightly with foil while I made mashed potatoes. It rested about 15-20 minutes because I had to boil my potatoes. Letting the chicken (or other piece of meat) rest after roasting is always a good idea. The gravy this made was so delicious and rich, it reminded me of turkey gravy (which I love). I omitted the lime, but used lime juice, used chicken broth instead of wine, used apple juice in the gravy, and omitted the bouillon. I don't keep that on hand and the gravy didn't need it anyway. I did have to add extra broth when making the gravy. I didn't skim the fat either, just because I was short on time. My chicken didn't render a lot of grease anyway. Served with the mashed taters and steamed carrots. Really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Excellent roasted chicken. Very moist and tender. I followed the recipe exactly but used half chicken broth and half wine. I did have to add quite abit more liquid to the roasting pan. The gravy was very good. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Delicious! So moist and tender and the meat fell off the bone. I used white wine, no stock, lots of extra garlic (I think about 8 cloves total), halved an onion to put in the cavitiy, and put the whole thing in a cast iron skillet in the oven. I didn't cover it with foil and it was done right when the recipe said it would be. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Try this.... cut slits and put cloves of garlic under skin before cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecco_Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Shake Adobo seasoning instead of salt and pepper...wonderful! Oh and added potatoes in the roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
So delicious and easy! I didn't have limes so I used lime juice and it worked great. I used sherry and I thought the gravy that it made was so delicious! We had this with brown rice and grilled zucchini..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't have any lime, so I used lemon and I didn't make the gravy, but the chicken was perfect! I did salt and pepper it, but we're salt freaks, so it's probably not necessary. I used my probe thermometer since my chicken always takes longer to cook than everyone elses seems too! I had to carve it in the roasting pan because I could not get it out of the pan without totally wrecking it...it was falling off the bones! Very tender and juicy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Mmmmm, this was delicious. So easy to prepare, too! I made the gravy with apple juice and added a little extra chicken broth. It was delicious over the chicken. I increased the cooking time 20 minutes to get the chicken to the correct internal temperature but my chicken was just over 4 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States