Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
HUBBY says: "Spice it up!" He ate a whole breast, leg, and wing, but apparently there was not enough garlic and pepper for him. HUBBY said "This would be great with cajun seasoning!" This would be a great recipe for someone with a part-time job who likes to try to do new things with poultry. Follow the time and temperature directions; if you do your chicken will be very moist. I used chicken stock instead of wine or broth, and the meat was extra savory. Prep rating: ***** Super easy! Cooking method: ***** You can't go wrong with a roasted bird. I watched an episode of LOST while it cooked. So simple. Taste: **** It could be spicier. Clean-up: *** Few dishes to wash, but cleaning a roasting pan is never fun. I will make this again, but with more PEPPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was a very good roast chicken recipe! It came out tender and falling off the bones, just the way I like it. To make it even more sinfully delicious, I rubbed some butter, fresh pepper, minced garlic and thyme underneath the skin of the chicken. I also broiled it without a lid for a few minutes when it was finished and it made the skin nice and crispy on top. I will definately make this recipe again. It's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This chicken was one of the most tender ones I've ever had, and very moist. The suggested cook time was just perfect, too. When it got to 180 degrees, I took it out of the oven, transferred it to a platter and covered tightly with foil while I made mashed potatoes. It rested about 15-20 minutes because I had to boil my potatoes. Letting the chicken (or other piece of meat) rest after roasting is always a good idea. The gravy this made was so delicious and rich, it reminded me of turkey gravy (which I love). I omitted the lime, but used lime juice, used chicken broth instead of wine, used apple juice in the gravy, and omitted the bouillon. I don't keep that on hand and the gravy didn't need it anyway. I did have to add extra broth when making the gravy. I didn't skim the fat either, just because I was short on time. My chicken didn't render a lot of grease anyway. Served with the mashed taters and steamed carrots. Really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Excellent roasted chicken. Very moist and tender. I followed the recipe exactly but used half chicken broth and half wine. I did have to add quite abit more liquid to the roasting pan. The gravy was very good. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Delicious! So moist and tender and the meat fell off the bone. I used white wine, no stock, lots of extra garlic (I think about 8 cloves total), halved an onion to put in the cavitiy, and put the whole thing in a cast iron skillet in the oven. I didn't cover it with foil and it was done right when the recipe said it would be. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Try this.... cut slits and put cloves of garlic under skin before cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecco_Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Shake Adobo seasoning instead of salt and pepper...wonderful! Oh and added potatoes in the roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
So delicious and easy! I didn't have limes so I used lime juice and it worked great. I used sherry and I thought the gravy that it made was so delicious! We had this with brown rice and grilled zucchini..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't have any lime, so I used lemon and I didn't make the gravy, but the chicken was perfect! I did salt and pepper it, but we're salt freaks, so it's probably not necessary. I used my probe thermometer since my chicken always takes longer to cook than everyone elses seems too! I had to carve it in the roasting pan because I could not get it out of the pan without totally wrecking it...it was falling off the bones! Very tender and juicy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Mmmmm, this was delicious. So easy to prepare, too! I made the gravy with apple juice and added a little extra chicken broth. It was delicious over the chicken. I increased the cooking time 20 minutes to get the chicken to the correct internal temperature but my chicken was just over 4 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States