Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This chicken was one of the most tender ones I've ever had, and very moist. The suggested cook time was just perfect, too. When it got to 180 degrees, I took it out of the oven, transferred it to a platter and covered tightly with foil while I made mashed potatoes. It rested about 15-20 minutes because I had to boil my potatoes. Letting the chicken (or other piece of meat) rest after roasting is always a good idea. The gravy this made was so delicious and rich, it reminded me of turkey gravy (which I love). I omitted the lime, but used lime juice, used chicken broth instead of wine, used apple juice in the gravy, and omitted the bouillon. I don't keep that on hand and the gravy didn't need it anyway. I did have to add extra broth when making the gravy. I didn't skim the fat either, just because I was short on time. My chicken didn't render a lot of grease anyway. Served with the mashed taters and steamed carrots. Really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Excellent roasted chicken. Very moist and tender. I followed the recipe exactly but used half chicken broth and half wine. I did have to add quite abit more liquid to the roasting pan. The gravy was very good. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I was really disappointed by this recipe.I found the chicken dry. Maybe adding some oil or butter to the skin would have helped. It did make a nice gravy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
One of my favorite roast chicken recipes to date. Very moist and delicious flavor. Hubby was impressed and was glad there was some leftover to take to work for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good recipe. Chicken was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rye, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good! The addition of limes add a perfect kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I used this as a guide to cook my chicken. I rubbed it down inside and out with EVOO and Italian Seasoning then baked for suggested time using the foil for the first 45 minutes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Thsi was good but it didn't knock my socks off. I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had used wine but I'm out of white wines so I used chicken broth. The gravy was very good ... although mashed potatoes would have been a more suitable side than the carrot dish I chose. I used a tsp of chicken base instead of the granules & I used apple cider because I had some in teh fridge. The chicken was moist & juicy & beautifully golden...the cooking times are dead on. Thanks for the recipe Jane Allen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
good recipe - i thought the gravy was the best part - VERY flavorful! chicken was moist, the lime/garlic liquid mixture was very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Try this.... cut slits and put cloves of garlic under skin before cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecco_Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States