Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Great! This was super moist. I didn't make the gravy, that's a bit more work than I was into. The chicken was very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't have any lime, so I used lemon and I didn't make the gravy, but the chicken was perfect! I did salt and pepper it, but we're salt freaks, so it's probably not necessary. I used my probe thermometer since my chicken always takes longer to cook than everyone elses seems too! I had to carve it in the roasting pan because I could not get it out of the pan without totally wrecking it...it was falling off the bones! Very tender and juicy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very juicy - we cooked it at 250 for an hour & then took the temp up to 375. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Delicious! So moist and tender and the meat fell off the bone. I used white wine, no stock, lots of extra garlic (I think about 8 cloves total), halved an onion to put in the cavitiy, and put the whole thing in a cast iron skillet in the oven. I didn't cover it with foil and it was done right when the recipe said it would be. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Mmmmm, this was delicious. So easy to prepare, too! I made the gravy with apple juice and added a little extra chicken broth. It was delicious over the chicken. I increased the cooking time 20 minutes to get the chicken to the correct internal temperature but my chicken was just over 4 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
HUBBY says: "Spice it up!" He ate a whole breast, leg, and wing, but apparently there was not enough garlic and pepper for him. HUBBY said "This would be great with cajun seasoning!" This would be a great recipe for someone with a part-time job who likes to try to do new things with poultry. Follow the time and temperature directions; if you do your chicken will be very moist. I used chicken stock instead of wine or broth, and the meat was extra savory. Prep rating: ***** Super easy! Cooking method: ***** You can't go wrong with a roasted bird. I watched an episode of LOST while it cooked. So simple. Taste: **** It could be spicier. Clean-up: *** Few dishes to wash, but cleaning a roasting pan is never fun. I will make this again, but with more PEPPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe for roasted chicken. Extremely tender and juicy. I didn't have sherry, apple juice, or lime so I just did without. I also used dried thyme instead of fresh. I put the called for ingredients inside the chicken, but added a half of an onion. The juices combined with a the chicken broth the chicken cooked in made a delicious gravy. I just added flour and water to thicken. I cooked mine for the allotted time in a clay pot but did not cover it at all. The skin turned a nice golden brown. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This roast chicken was amazing!! I followed the recipe exacatly except I used more garlic and more white wine. I did not make the gravy as I served it with roasted veggies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This tasted pretty good, the meat was plenty moist. I didn't have a rack that fit in my roasting pan so I sliced up an apple and set the chicken on the apple slices. I didn't have a lime so I just used a couple of teaspoons of lemon juice instead. I roasted it per the recipe, but it took a lot longer for the meat to get to temperature; the skin was mighty dark when it was finally done. (The bird was just slightly over 3 pounds). I had to add about 3/4 cup chicken broth partway through the second half of roasting. I omitted the apple juice (used water instead) because of the apple in the pan; I will admit that the gravy was a bit sweet, but not sweet enough that I particularly disliked it. It made enough gravy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight... my first Roasted Chicken ever, and dare I say, it certainly rivaled my mother's! It was incredibly moist. I ran out of white wine to add for basting after I removed the tin foil, so I used a bit of apple cider. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States