Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used a free range chicken that had almost no fat, but it still turned out very moist and flavourful. (I used wine and sherry.) I had to add wine to the pan twice because it evaporated. It evaporated again and, as I was out of wine, I added a cup of strong chicken stock. There was no fat in the drippings, but still, the gravy was absolutely delicious. My husband, who usually doesn't like gravy, was eating it by the spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My husband ate 1/2 of it before I even had a chance to try it! Great recipe, thank you. I used about a 4 1/2 lb. chicken and roasted it in an electric roaster on a rack, using a digital meat thermometer. I put the 4 lime wedges from 1 lime inside the cavity w/the spices and 1/2 cup white wine, and squeezed another lime into the pan w/ another 1/2 cup of white wine, 1 cup of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of water. I didn't make the gravy but I'm sure it would have a great flavor. I used dried thyme and dried minced garlic since that's what I had on had. I also added a lot of Mrs. Dash original blend and sprinkled black pepper on the bird as well. The timing was perfect for my 4 1/2 lb. chicken, so if I had a 3lb chicken I may have cooked it less than the suggested time. THANKS again Jane for a new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This produced a VERY juicy chicken! We liked that aspect very much! I forgot the paprika (oops), & used a mixture of tequila and chicken broth for the white wine (hey, where there's limes, there's tequila!). I was afraid this would ruin the juices, but it didn't--I made excellent gravy (using the apple juice option rather than the sherry option). The only thing I did differently was to cook my chicken in a Dutch oven (so I could just remove the chicken & turn everything else in the pan into gravy); and I spritzed my bird with PAM spray & dried thyme so that it would be pretty. Served with "Green Bean Stir-Fry" from this site and slices of multi-grain bread. Thanks for the recipe, I would make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Love the ingredients look up feature on allrecipes! I just happened to have thyme and limes that needed used up. Can't go wrong with a roast chicken. Yummy week night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
4.25 pound chicken took 2 hours & 45 minutes to reach 180 degrees. The breasts were a bit dry. I prefer other baked chicken recipes. Gave our rating an extra star because we liked the thick gravy a lot. Cut back on the chicken boullion & used sherry (dominant flavour in gravy). Probably would be good on steak as previous reviewer mentioned. I'm going to try it on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was okay. The chicken was moist and cooked in the correct time frame. The gravy however was very different. Mine turned out very dark in color like a beek gravy. It had an interesting taste. Not bad, just different. It would have been really good on a steak. My husband also commented that he thought it was pretty salty. I like salty so I didn't find it so. I don't know if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This chicken was very moist. The gravy which I used apple juice for was excellent. Thankyou Jane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Very moist and easy to make. I thought it lacked a little spice for my taste, but my husband thought it was great. Took a little longer to cook, but it looked beautiful when it came out...nice and brown! I also loved the fact that the recipe did not call for butter to save in the fat/calorie department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Very good & moist. It was fall off the bone tender. I didn't make the gravy, it wasn't missed as we enjoyed the juicy chicken as is! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was super amazing!!! The chicken was very moist...everyone loved it. Altered the recipe just a tad bit...Added Garlic under the skin, also cut up carrots, potato, garlic around the chicken. Great with a rice, simple green salad and steamed frozed green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States