Garlic Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
A little plain, not sure what would zest up this recipe but good overall. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elanie Obando

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this recipe a few times; it was always good, but I wanted a crispier potato. To make this a five star recipe, peel the potatoes and parboil them. I usually always leave the skins on potatoes, but I learned that leaving the skin on will prevent crisping. Peel them and parboil for about eight minutes. Heat the butter (I put the butter in the dish the potatoes were going in and put that in the oven on the top rack while the potatoes were parboiling.) The fat being hot when you add the potatoes also helps with crisping. Add all the other ingredients (except the cheese) to the potatoes and toss in the hot butter. Also, use an oblong baking dish as opposed to a square one, so the potatoes are more spread out. I cooked at 425 for about 40 min uncovered. Don't add the cheese until the end, and stir halfway through the cook time. I never understood what people meant when they said that potatoes were crisp on the outside, but creamy on the inside. Now I get it! I also added fresh rosemary to the recipe for personal taste. This is a more time consuming way in which to prepare these, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
These were really good. I wasn't sure about the lemon but it was nice, not overpowering at all. The garlic didn't really shine through though. Overall we were pleased with these potatoes but have other favorite recipes we will make more often. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was okay except the baking time was much too short. I had to raise the temperature to 400 and add another 20 minutes to cook the potatoes through. The garlic addition was tasty, though. I don't think the cheese did anything much for the flavor and it seems to need an herb of some kind. I added a half teaspoon of cracked black pepper to bump up the flavor and yet it seems to be missing something. More butter maybe? Perhaps feta cheese instead of Parmesan would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I liked these potatoes,though not as well as the honey roasted ones, but these tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
All around SIMPLE recipe. I could drink the ingredients added to the potatoes and leave the potatoes out. One major alteration to the cooking time. Cook for one hour- the potatoes were crunchy at 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These potatoes were delicious! Didn't change much of anything with this one. Just added a little garlic and onion salts to taste, and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
very good. they took about 75 min to cook at 350. you will have to use more garlic than you think but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Host

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. I had everything and baked them just like the instructions said and they were soooo tasty. My daughter and my sister loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Our family already has a recipe for red potatoes which we're having a hard time topping, so this only received an okay rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States