Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe was fantastic, but the cooking the roast at 500 degrees did make quite a bit of smoke in my mother in law's kitchen! Other than that, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas Dinner & it was amazing! It was the 1st time I have ever made this kind of roast. I made this with a 6 lb boneless rib roast & followed the advice other reviews to start out at 460 degrees for 12 mins, 400 for 8, then 325 for the rest of the time. A meat thermometer is crucial to get the perfect degree of doneness. I also used cotton twine purchased at a hardware store to tie the roast up. All in all awesome recipe indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Super good and super easy! We tried this last night for Christmas dinner, and it was a hit! My husband likes his well done, so I finished his slice(s) off with a quick sear in truffle butter over the stove. So good!!! I recommend the cream-braised brussels sprouts (sprouts in a lemon cream sauce) found on this site as an excellent side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was my first prime rib, I was so intimidated by the 14 pound prime rib..but after reading all of the reviews I was confident it would turn out good. I did do the first 10 minutes at 500 because it was starting to smoke. I then reduced it to 425 for the next 10 minutes and then 325 for the rest of the time. I started around 12 in the afternoon and it was ready by 4:00pm. It came out very flavorful. I did the au jus sauce using Bobby Flay recipe. I added 2 cups of red wine and beef broth to the pan drippings/juice. All of my friends were very pleased with dinner. I will def. do this again. I bought a digital meat thermameter which is the key to taking out the meat at the right temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Cooked this for Christmas dinner. It came out perfect. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Atwater, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is the 3rd. year I have made this for Christmas,It is absolutley the best! Everyone loved it. I used a 5lb. roast & used the recipe for the rub as is, we love the garlic flavor.I just turn the oven up to 350 @ the end because it was taking to long to reach the right temp. Best prime rib ever, better then any restaurant I ate at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made it last night for a Christmas Dinner for my family. I prepared it exactly as it says in the recipe and it was absolutely amazing. Better than anything I've ever had at a restaurant. And yes, it was a perfect Medium Rare!!! I think I've started a new Christmas day tradition for my family :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Turned out perfect for our 11 Christmas guests! Followed the directions exactly. Used a temp probe sensor plugged into the oven to take the guess work out. Guests said-Oh I can't eat that much when my husband served them-but....they did. When we spent that much on the prime rib it was very helpful to have a reliable recipe so we didn't ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Christmas Dinner, 2012: This recipe is perfect in every way; wouldn't change a thing, and will definitely make it again. Plusses: simple to make, not too many ingredients, spices/herbs are ones I always have on hand, and cooking instructions are easy to follow. But learn from my mistake: make sure your roast is at room temperature when you put it in the oven. I removed the roast from the freezer on Saturday night with a plan to put it in the oven on Monday night, Christmas Eve. So it was in frig 2 days and on countertop another 2 hours. But still, when I put the probe into the center of the meat, I felt some resistance, because it was still slightly frozen. This messed up the cooking time, my dinner was late, and the outside cooked a little longer than it should have (7-lb roast) because it took so long for probe to register 135. One final thing: the majority of the center of the roast was pink, but it wasn't the true, butter-like medium rare I'm accustomed to in fine restaurants. Next time I'll set the probe to 125. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe! My first time cooking prime rib and i was NERVOUS!!! I looked at about a million reviews and decided on this one. I was a little nervous about the thyme in this recipe, since it is not my favorite spice and can sometimes be overpowering. But I thought i would go with the original recipe given all the great reviews. i did use 2tbsp of fresh thyme instead of dried. The thyme flavor was not overwhelming at all.. honestly didn't even notice it. It just tasted really delicious with the salty, garlicky crust. I had a 6.3 lb roast. I used the portions from the original recipe. I planned to do the whole 460 x12 in and then 400 x 8, but the garlic started to burn (or i got nervous about it). So I did 460 x 8min, and 400 x 12 min , and then 325. My oven only took 1h10m to cook the rest, but it cooks everything fast. I took it out at internal temp of 130 degrees even though i intended to take it out at 125. It was a good medium to medium-rare, but next time will take out at 125 as planned (hopefully) to get medium rare to rare. I let it rest for about 1 hour before serving because was busy finishing everything else. Got rave reviews, even from my picky parents! This was so easy and so delicious. I am so excited about my first prime rib!!! Don't be nervous, this really is so easy and so awesome. I think the meat thermometer really is key, plus the delicious rub. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States