Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Absofrigginlutely. Exactly as posted (except i didn't peel), picture perfect tonguetastic delight. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great recipe!! I took a leap of faith and made it for the first time when I had company coming and it was delicious!! We all went back for seconds. The only change I would make next time is adding more of the Gouda. Other than that this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was great! My only problem was that either the cook time or the temp was too low. I followed the recipe exactly (even slicing the potatoes very thinly) and they were still crunchy after the recommended cook time. I ended up microwaving the whole thing for 10 minutes and it came out fine. To keep the cheese from separating, I tossed the shredded gouda in a zipper bag with about 1T of flour. Worked like a charm. My family has already asked me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The flavor was very good. I used fat free half and half and it did not separate; however, I made it the night before and think they would have been better straight from the oven without refrigeration. I'm not sure it's worth the $7 worth of smoked gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These potatoes were a big hit at Easter dinner. Used a Mandolin to slice the potatoes and kept the skin on. Next time I will use less butter because it was a little greasy. This is a new Easter dinner staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These were outstanding. I used fresh parmesan in place of gouda because I was trying to replicate a local restaurant recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I have made this recipe several times, exactly as it is, for one of our dinner parties. Pretty much every time, someone requests the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Fantastic! 4 stars because I made changes. I cut recipe in half to server 2. Also reduced amount of butter(used leftover garlic herb butter bought for holidays) and used half and half instead of heavy cream. I melted garlic herb butter in sauce pan, added fresh crushed garlic cloves, half and half, salt and pepper and let it simmer until it was hot. Poured the hot mixture over potatoes and cheese and baked until it was golden and smell drove DH crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I loved the addition of garlic, but think I'd be more apt to make au gratin potatoes the way I'm used to, starting with a roux, etc. Used 1 cup 1% milk and 1/2 cup cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Kids love this! Have substituted whole milk and even fat-free half & half for the cream and no discernible difference. Sprinkled the potato slices with flour as others suggested, and the leftovers were just as good the following day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States