Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These potatoes were a big hit at Easter dinner. Used a Mandolin to slice the potatoes and kept the skin on. Next time I will use less butter because it was a little greasy. This is a new Easter dinner staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These were outstanding. I used fresh parmesan in place of gouda because I was trying to replicate a local restaurant recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I have made this recipe several times, exactly as it is, for one of our dinner parties. Pretty much every time, someone requests the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Fantastic! 4 stars because I made changes. I cut recipe in half to server 2. Also reduced amount of butter(used leftover garlic herb butter bought for holidays) and used half and half instead of heavy cream. I melted garlic herb butter in sauce pan, added fresh crushed garlic cloves, half and half, salt and pepper and let it simmer until it was hot. Poured the hot mixture over potatoes and cheese and baked until it was golden and smell drove DH crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I loved the addition of garlic, but think I'd be more apt to make au gratin potatoes the way I'm used to, starting with a roux, etc. Used 1 cup 1% milk and 1/2 cup cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Kids love this! Have substituted whole milk and even fat-free half & half for the cream and no discernible difference. Sprinkled the potato slices with flour as others suggested, and the leftovers were just as good the following day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used this recipe for method and used the ingredients I had on hand. I had yukon gold potatoes and I used a mixture of cheddar and jack. I think it works well with any time of milk or cream you have on hand as well. I followed the recipe as written other than my substitutions and it was great. A nice change from typical au gratin potatoes. Good for a special occassion meal. I served this with flank steak and roasted asparagus for Valentine's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious! Sprinkled the layers in between with a little flour to help with the separation that other reviewers mentioned. Cooked in a slightly smaller dish, so ended up with three layers of potatoes, topped with the garlic and cheese and sprinkled with a Parmesan to top for a little kick. Baked for 1 1/2 hours with thicker potato layers. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The BEST we've ever had!! BUT - I did make some changes. I started by slowly cooking 1/2 a vidalia onion (chopped) in butter. Once tender, I added flour to make a roux, then added milk to make a thick white (bechamel) sauce. I added salk and pepper to taste. I sliced my potatoes, put one layer in a 13x9" pan, topped with a little salt and pepper, then half the sauce. I topped this with a couple ounces of gouda chopped into cubes. Then I repeated the process: potatoes, s+p, rest of the sauce, and another couple ounces of gouda, then baked for about an hour. I usually make this exactly the same way but without the gouda. Never again will I do this without gouda - it was PERFECT! SO flavorful and a great consistency (I don't like them runny). I forgot about garlic but I don't think it was missed. SO easy and SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very, very good! They lost their consistancy the next day though (too buttery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States