Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made this to serve with the Christmas ham. Every one raved about it. On the menu from now on. Just wonderful Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great flavor and easy to put together. We have our 2 favorite gratins here in AR and this comes in third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I make this so often; it's an absolutely amazing recipe. The only changes I make (which improve it greatly) are that (1) I slice the cheese and potatoes as paper thin as possible, and then double up (or even triple) the layers. This creates a great texture and tenderness, and (2) I cover the gratin until the last 15 minutes when I uncover the dish to create a slightly more crisp layer over the otherwise very soft dish. It goes brilliantly with either: baked salmon (such as http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-salmon-ii/detail.aspx) and asparagus with melted butter OR baked honey nut chicken (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-honey-nut-chicken/detail.aspx.) You can even bake both at the same time, by tweaking the timing/temperature a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was a good base recipe which I changed only slightly. Instead of heavy cream I used a can of evaporated milk (which tasted creamy and delicious by the way) and as far as the cheese, I used 1/2 smoked gouda and 1/2 fontina. The end result was delicious, but I have a couple of suggestions that I think I will try if I make this recipe again. 1. I would increase the amount of garlic. I used the 5 cloves according to the directions but was expecting a more noticeable garlic flavor. 2. I would sauté the garlic/butter mixture before layering and pour 1/2 in the middle and half on the top to more evenly distribute these flavors. 2. I used 6 oz. of cheese but felt that mine could have used a little more. maybe just a personal preference. Overall, a nice recipe I would use again with the changes I just mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I tried another, similar recipe recently and rated it five stars and still would. But if that recipe was five stars, I’d rate this even higher if I could. Very similar recipes, with very similar results, yet somehow this one really left me with a remarkable impression. First, it requires no pre-cooking of the potatoes, which actually made them turn out far superior to those in the last recipe that required the precooking. Second, the recipe calls for Gouda, and since I used the smoked variety, we were rewarded with a lot of extra flavor. In addition, the cooking time was low and slow, not only giving me ample “hands free” time to prepare the rest of our dinner, but it almost guaranteed the potatoes would be cooked through with deliciously melded flavors. This was truly memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good, but ended up being a little too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
very good but very fatty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were great! Followed the recipe except added onions. I cooked the potatoes a tad before slicing, I didn't have any issues with seperation but think you had to cook longer then suggested. I did cover with foil for 30 minutes, but I should have done it a bit longer, maybe 45 mins as the top was very brown and the potatoes just a tad undercooked. will adjust time. This was excellant with Ham on Easter and do not skip the Gouda (I used smoked) I think that is what makes this dish! Thanx I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought this was good, but was hoping for a more "cheesy" flavor as I really love Gouda. I did love the garlic, especially the smell while baking. I did use skim milk because I completely forgot to pick up heavy cream at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States