Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
These potatoes were awesome!! My whole family loved them. I will be making these quite often over the summer for barbeques. They went well with the roast I cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made these Christmas Day and my family loved them. I did make one change. I substituted 3 lbs of frozen hashbrowns (thawed) in place of the red potatoes. This was strictly for a timesaver. I did not change anything else. Cook time was roughly the same and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Modifications to the recipe: I added about 2 tsp of lemon juice to the cream sauce and made 1.5 times the amount of cream sauce so it comes out moist. Tip: cover casserole with foil in the first 30 minutes and remove for the remaining 40 so top doesn't get burnt. Oh and I used smoked sea salt for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Superb, great directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I brought some of this for my lunch at work and ended up making another batch to bring to work the next day. Little changes I made: doubled the sauce recipe because I want my potatoes smothered. I also added some sauce per layer instead of just pouring it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I expected more than I got with these potatoes. My family thought they were good but a little odd with the Gouda rather than a sharp American cheese. Also, because I made them ahead of time, a few of the potatoes blackened where they were not coated with the sauce, so I believe I would combine the potatoes in a bowl with sauce then layer if making them ahead of time again. Altogether an OK potato recipe, but not as wonderful, creamy, or flavorful as we had all hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made this to serve with the Christmas ham. Every one raved about it. On the menu from now on. Just wonderful Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great flavor and easy to put together. We have our 2 favorite gratins here in AR and this comes in third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I make this so often; it's an absolutely amazing recipe. The only changes I make (which improve it greatly) are that (1) I slice the cheese and potatoes as paper thin as possible, and then double up (or even triple) the layers. This creates a great texture and tenderness, and (2) I cover the gratin until the last 15 minutes when I uncover the dish to create a slightly more crisp layer over the otherwise very soft dish. It goes brilliantly with either: baked salmon (such as http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-salmon-ii/detail.aspx) and asparagus with melted butter OR baked honey nut chicken (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-honey-nut-chicken/detail.aspx.) You can even bake both at the same time, by tweaking the timing/temperature a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was a good base recipe which I changed only slightly. Instead of heavy cream I used a can of evaporated milk (which tasted creamy and delicious by the way) and as far as the cheese, I used 1/2 smoked gouda and 1/2 fontina. The end result was delicious, but I have a couple of suggestions that I think I will try if I make this recipe again. 1. I would increase the amount of garlic. I used the 5 cloves according to the directions but was expecting a more noticeable garlic flavor. 2. I would sauté the garlic/butter mixture before layering and pour 1/2 in the middle and half on the top to more evenly distribute these flavors. 2. I used 6 oz. of cheese but felt that mine could have used a little more. maybe just a personal preference. Overall, a nice recipe I would use again with the changes I just mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States