Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This was to die for! To offset the cook's comment about it separating, I added 2-3 more potatoes and had no problem. I doubled the recipe and 6 people ate it all--and all asked for the recipe. Very rich, not for those watching caloric/fat intake, but absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very Good! The gouda really adds a nice creamy texture to this dish. I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. I was able to slice the potatoes evenly using the mandolin about 1/4 inch thick. I sprinkled the cheese evenly through 3 layers, then the cream over the top. I baked covered with foil the first 45 minutes. Uncovered for 15 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The BEST we've ever had!! BUT - I did make some changes. I started by slowly cooking 1/2 a vidalia onion (chopped) in butter. Once tender, I added flour to make a roux, then added milk to make a thick white (bechamel) sauce. I added salk and pepper to taste. I sliced my potatoes, put one layer in a 13x9" pan, topped with a little salt and pepper, then half the sauce. I topped this with a couple ounces of gouda chopped into cubes. Then I repeated the process: potatoes, s+p, rest of the sauce, and another couple ounces of gouda, then baked for about an hour. I usually make this exactly the same way but without the gouda. Never again will I do this without gouda - it was PERFECT! SO flavorful and a great consistency (I don't like them runny). I forgot about garlic but I don't think it was missed. SO easy and SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
My family enjoyed this recipe. I envision this being a terrific addition to pot luckss and school luncheons. I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream and substituted sharp cheddar for gouda. It was crispy brown on top when complete. Thanks, Lisa for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I tried another, similar recipe recently and rated it five stars and still would. But if that recipe was five stars, I’d rate this even higher if I could. Very similar recipes, with very similar results, yet somehow this one really left me with a remarkable impression. First, it requires no pre-cooking of the potatoes, which actually made them turn out far superior to those in the last recipe that required the precooking. Second, the recipe calls for Gouda, and since I used the smoked variety, we were rewarded with a lot of extra flavor. In addition, the cooking time was low and slow, not only giving me ample “hands free” time to prepare the rest of our dinner, but it almost guaranteed the potatoes would be cooked through with deliciously melded flavors. This was truly memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Made this dish with Christmas Dinner and it was a smash hit. I made extra layers of potatoes topping each layer with garlic butter and cheese. Lightly sprinkled top with flavored bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
My husband and I thought this was an excellent, quick recipe for potatoes. We used smoked gouda, I added a little thinly sliced onion and a mix of heavy cream and half & half. Cooked it until it was really browned and bubbly, yum! No problems with seperation but would add more garlic next time, we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was amazing. We absolutely loved the flavor. It was so very easy to make and I did not change one bit of this recipe and got nothing from raves. These are absolutely THE BEST au/gratin potatoes I've ever eaten. These will definitely be made again and again! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I was concerned about the mixed reviews, but had some gouda cheese I needed to use up so I figured I would give this a try. I had the same issue as other reviewers, even right out of the oven it separated and looked rather unappealing. They tasted fine, I used a smoked gouda so the taste was also a little stronger. My husband ate too helpings, but that may have been because he skipped lunch and was hungry. I took a star away for appearance, on taste I would give a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This dish was wonderful. Yes, it's got tons of calories, but it's worth it. My guests also raved about it. Because of past posts, I used more Gouda (9 oz) and extra garlc (7 to 8 cloves). I also didn't brown the garlic in the butter. Instead, I melted the butter and put the garlic in at the last moment to make it easier to spread in the dish. This is definitely one of my favorites! Not an everyday dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States