Garlic Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I was concerned the lack of liquid would not allow the potatoes to cook or distribute the soup mix and I was right. I initially added 1/4 cup homemade veg stock and after 30 minutes of simmering the potatoes were not done and the spices were caked at the bottom of the pan. I ended up adding 1 cup of stock and simmering 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was good. More fresh tasting than the typical ham/potato/cheese casserole. I couldn't find the Savory Herb with Garlic soup mix for the life of me. Not sure if it's even made anymore. I used a sauce mix for creamy pesto. I added some water, too, about 1/3 cup, as the dry packet seemed not so allow for proper steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very good. Addition of cheese would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
We have 3 kids and 7 adults all living in the same house! It can get hard to please everyone and this recipe was awesome! Everyone loved it! Even my nephew who is a very picky eater, especially potatoes, loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did not want to use processed soup mix so I just chopped about 4 cloves of garlic and made a white sauce. I added fresh broccoli and both my husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used what I had on hand: Yukon gold potatoes, onion soup mix, bag of broccoli florets, garlic powder, black pepper, and chopped sliced ham. I cooked my potatoes for about 20 minutes covered in a cast iron skillet before adding the rest of the ingredients. My pototoes were larger and had more of them. This was an easy one skillet meal that we all enjoyed. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very yummy and a quick dinner. I didn't have the garlic soup mix (thought I did) so I substituted with Golden Onion soup mix, added minced garlic and at the very end sprinkled with a little feta cheese. Yummy. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMW1UT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very tasty! We modified this recipe some b/c we did not have all of the same ingredients on hand. Instead of Garlic soup mix, we used Lipton Onion Soup Mix. We also used a bag of frozen California Blend (Broccoli, Cauliflower and Carrots) instead of just broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Nice, simple, and easy to make. Good comfort food for a cold winter day. The soup mix made the dish saltier than I prefer, and the hubby thought it was just OK. But we'll definitely make this one again; it's a nice break from what we normally eat (i.e. chicken, chicken, and more chicken!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Very good. I didnt have any brocilli so I changed it for green beans and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States