Garlic Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Very quick & easy to Make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was a very good recipe! I only used 3 cloves of garlic and it was still very flavorful. I put in two onions instead of one. The meat was very tender. The sweet potatoes were very tender, NOT mushy and tasted wonderful. I had leftovers and when reheated in the saved broth in a saucepan was just as good as the first day it was made. I put the leftover meat in a low oven wraped in foil for a short time and it was still mosit and tender. My husband loved this and said he definitely wants this as a "make again" recipe. One hint, if you open the lid even just one time before the minimum cooking time, you loose 1 to 1/2 hrs. of cooking time, which means you have to add that additional loss of time to your expected time done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Great meal! I made a gravy from the broth after it had cooked 6 hours that had a super flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEKRIKET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
oh my, what a great recipe!! i didn't change a thing and it came out perfect. my parents came to visit, and they could not believe how wonderful it was. 9/25/08... The posting above was made a few years ago, and I've made this several times since, but I thought I'd change it up a little this time. I've always added more garlic than called for, but this last time I seared the pork roast as I usually do, then I added about a 1/2 can of chicken broth to the drippings, let it come to a simmer to loosen up the bits stuck to the pan, then poured it into the crockpot along with the rest of the broth...that small step took this recipe to another level!! This is really the only way I cook pork roast. Thank you so much for this posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This was a tasty and easy pot roast. The garlic did not overwhelm the flavor of the roast or the veggies. When it was time to serve the roast was so tender it was just falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This recipe is incredible! I started it in the morning and by the time my husband came home the roast was falling apart. The combination of the sweet potatoes, garlic and the pork all complement each other very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I omitted the sweet potatoes. You have to make sure you sear the pork good. After searing it I cut four slits in the top and put in the slivers of garlic into the pork roast (mine had the bones), then I took 1 TB crushed peppercorns, 1 tea of oregano, 1 tea cumin (not seeds), 1/2 tea of ground cloves, 1.5 tea of cinnamon. Take a hot sauce pan and heat up your spices a bit (do not burn) this should be about 2 min or so and then rub onto the roast. Then I added the rest in the recipe. I cooked it at 4 hours high (starting at 7:30am) then at lunch I put it at 6 hours high. Them meat fell right off the bone! It was so tender and flavorful I shredded it up and heated up some corn tortillas (Milagro are the best tortillas) salsa and cheese. Very good! The spices are what I use when making empanada meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This recipe was a hit. Had the in-laws over and it was gobbled up! I was a little sceptical about the garlic with sweet potatoes, but it was very good! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Kids and hubby raved about this meal! This is reallly goood Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
The recipe was easy and extremely flavorful. I used acorn squash instead of sweet potatoes and they had a very interesting flavor. The liquid made a great cornstarch gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States