Garlic Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
With a few modifications based on other reviewers suggestions, this recipe was one of the best I have made from Allrecipes (and I've been a member for over four years). I seasoned the roast generously with Spike and garlic pepper before searing, and also placed the sweet potatoes on top of the roast instead of underneath (the onions and garlic were kept on the bottom of the crock, though). I made slits and shoved in some garlic cloves, crocked it for 8 hours on low, and it was absolutely perfect: a handsome, falling apart, no-knife needed roast. The sweet pototoes also came out the right consistency. This will be one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was a very good recipe! I only used 3 cloves of garlic and it was still very flavorful. I put in two onions instead of one. The meat was very tender. The sweet potatoes were very tender, NOT mushy and tasted wonderful. I had leftovers and when reheated in the saved broth in a saucepan was just as good as the first day it was made. I put the leftover meat in a low oven wraped in foil for a short time and it was still mosit and tender. My husband loved this and said he definitely wants this as a "make again" recipe. One hint, if you open the lid even just one time before the minimum cooking time, you loose 1 to 1/2 hrs. of cooking time, which means you have to add that additional loss of time to your expected time done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I had to try this because I couldn't imagine sweet potatoes with onions and garlic. I trimmed all the fat off the roast and seasoned it with seasoned salt and garlic pepper prior to searing. I sliced one clove of garlic and placed the slivers in slits cut in the roast. Since I knew I would be gone for 9 hours instead of 6, I cut the sweet potatoes into large chunks and put them on top of the roast (I used 2 large onions and the garlic to line the crock pot). The potatoes were slighty soft, but not mushy. The flavor of the whole dish was superb. My mom and husband both agreed that this was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I used this recipe as a base to get the final results I was looking for. My pork turned out excellent, extremely tender and not the least bit dry. I left out the sweet potatoes because I just wanted plain mashed potatoes that I could pour gravy over. I seared the pork with my seasonings of choice, garlic, Fiesta Fajita seasoning, and salt-free Cavender's Greek Seasoning. I saved the 'drippings' from the searing to make my gravy rue then added the broth from the cooked roast to finish it up. I cooked the roast on two onions cut in half for 5 1/2 hours and just cut the cooker off to let it 'rest' for the last 30 minutes while I was finishing up the remainder of the meal. I haven't eaten until I was 'stuffed' in a long time, but I certainly did last night and so did my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
oh my, what a great recipe!! i didn't change a thing and it came out perfect. my parents came to visit, and they could not believe how wonderful it was. 9/25/08... The posting above was made a few years ago, and I've made this several times since, but I thought I'd change it up a little this time. I've always added more garlic than called for, but this last time I seared the pork roast as I usually do, then I added about a 1/2 can of chicken broth to the drippings, let it come to a simmer to loosen up the bits stuck to the pan, then poured it into the crockpot along with the rest of the broth...that small step took this recipe to another level!! This is really the only way I cook pork roast. Thank you so much for this posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. We added carrots, extra salt and pepper and used white table potatoes. Which turned excellent. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I omitted the sweet potatoes. You have to make sure you sear the pork good. After searing it I cut four slits in the top and put in the slivers of garlic into the pork roast (mine had the bones), then I took 1 TB crushed peppercorns, 1 tea of oregano, 1 tea cumin (not seeds), 1/2 tea of ground cloves, 1.5 tea of cinnamon. Take a hot sauce pan and heat up your spices a bit (do not burn) this should be about 2 min or so and then rub onto the roast. Then I added the rest in the recipe. I cooked it at 4 hours high (starting at 7:30am) then at lunch I put it at 6 hours high. Them meat fell right off the bone! It was so tender and flavorful I shredded it up and heated up some corn tortillas (Milagro are the best tortillas) salsa and cheese. Very good! The spices are what I use when making empanada meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was a very tender roast. I used a 3 lb. boneless sirloin, tied. I seared it in olive oil after I rubbed it with rosemary and Mrs. Dash Garlic & herb. I didn't have sweet taters, so I just used russets. After it was done, I poured the broth into a saucepan and thickened it with cornstarch to make gravy. Yummmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This recipe is incredible! I started it in the morning and by the time my husband came home the roast was falling apart. The combination of the sweet potatoes, garlic and the pork all complement each other very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This was very good, especially considering how easy it was to make. I was sure to season the roast well with garlic powder, dried chopped rosemary, seasoned salt and pepper before I seared it (sear it well too, as this locks in all the juices). I served it with honey glazed carrots and made extra honey/brown sugar/butter glaze to serve on the sweet potatoes. A delicious meal that was something other than chicken, plus my husband said he'd like to have it again which is the true test! Thanks for a great recipe Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States