Garlic Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipe was really good. I'm not a sweet potato fan, so I just used regular potatoes. Beyond that, this seems like a recipe you can really adjust to make something a little different every time you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have made this several times now, and it always comes out great. The only thing I change is that I usually make it with regular potatoes instead of sweet potatoes because I don't think the sweet potatoes add anything. The garlic and onion pretty much overpower them. And I try to make it with the biggest pork roast my crock pot can handle because we shred the leftovers and make BBQ sandwiches the next night. You've gotta love such a simple, easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Finally! I have found a recipe for pork roast that didn't call for a tomato product! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Followed the advice of the previous reviewers.....didn't have Spike though....used Old Bay seasoning. The whole family gave this a thumbs up! Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I love anything made in the crockpot, and you can't beat how easy this recipe is. That being said, I just wasn't wowed by flavor. I even tried adding the garlic salt, basil, and bay leaves, and carrots, suggested by other reviewers, but still didn't feel it was a fantastic recipe. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
An easy tasteful Sunday dinner. The pork would have been a little bland had I not took the advice of some other reviewers and seasoned it. I used garlic powder, dry basil and a couple of bay leaves. Otherwise, followed the recipe according to directions. Meat was tender and moist and the veggies done just right. I dropped a few baby carrots in with mine. Made cooking a meal a snap. I will probably use this recipe again and try some different seasonings until I get it just right. I strained the "juice" left at the bottom of the crock and refrigerated it overnight to skim the fat off in the morning. Used it as a base for gravy for hot pork sandwiches, as hubby doesn't care for gravy on potatoes. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was not BAD, but it wasn't anything to write home about. Definately lacks flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
flavor of the meat was good. I used more garlic than recommended. I'd agree with the other reviewer that you do not need all the recommended chicken broth. I don't think the sweet potatoes complemented the pork flavor very well. I would have used just regular white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was adding more of my favorite veggies like carrots, small red potatoes, and mushrooms. Everything turned out incredibly moist and tender! It was perfect, and I'll definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellford, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was a pretty good base recipe. I wish I would have read the reviews before I made it and seasoned it a little more like everyone suggested. However, I think because it was so mildly flavored my kids loved it; telling me it was the best "chicky" ever!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States