Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Like other reviewers, I thought it was too bland as-is. That is largely a personal preference though. My rating is for the recipe as-is, though I did end up adding a few things that made it extra good to my wife and me - some salt, butter, and basil at the end. She said it would go great with some fried salmon filets, and we'll be having that for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Djs2013
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Instead of penne, I used spaghetti- the only pasta I had on hand. A used way more garlic, fresh parsley, basil, and a added a dash of oregano. What a fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was okay, I spiced mine up a bit more by adding more garlic, i also boiled my pasta in chicken broth, I added more olive oil, and basil, and grape tomatoes to it and it was better. Next time I may add some bacon pieces. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Melinda~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was quite tasty. I made it exactly as written, and included the sun-dried tomatoes. It was nice to see that pasta can be made very flavorful with just a bit of vegetables and spices, and no "sauce" per se.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I agree, this is a great baseline for a fresh summer pasta! I used 1/3 box of the wheat penne instead of the entire thing. I also did not want to change up the vegies as I wanted a clean fresh simple pasta, but I did double it. I used Roma tomatoes instead of Sundried. I also sauted the garlic in olive oil with parsley.. threw in the vegies, then added minced onion, and itialian seasoning. I put that mixture aside when I felt it was ready, and took my cooked pasta and sauted it on the skillet with some olive oil and garlic powder to get it a little crisp and absorb some flavor so it was not so bland as it is wheat pasta. Mixed it all together, added crushed red pepper and fresh parmesan shavings and it was delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MshhhL
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
great recipe, like some others, i reduced the olive oil, and added 1/2 cup dry white wine and reduced prior to adding into the pasta. I also used whole grain pasta. Topped with shredded mozzarella. Delicious, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
A very familiar, "everyday" dish for me - couldn't live without it! But I've never tried it with sun-dried tomatoes. Not sure I'm a fan of that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Left out the sun-dried tomatoes and used a diferent shaped pasta than penne. Perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Penne turned out delicious. I received so many praises. I changed it a bit by using fresh parsley sautéed with the garlic and when completed, added fresh basil. I also used less pasta-12 oz as suggested in other reviews. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States