Garlic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Oustanding flavor for such a simple recipe. I only added about 1 tsp of red pepper and it was hot so I couldnt imagine a whole tablespoon! I would like to try it with some chicken or sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe makes an absolutely delicious meal. I generally like to have meat for dinner, so I have done both shrimp slow cooked in a garlic mixture and mixed with the pasta, or chicken mixed with the pasta. Both options I have loved. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love garlic, but this is super garlicy. Only eat this if you will not be talking to someone else for a solid 24 hours because garlic breath doesn't begin to describe what you will have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Thanks for the killer recipe. Felt like a Macaroni Grill special. Added some shrimp and sundried tomatoes and we couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
A wonderfully simple recipe. I used whole wheat penne and reduced the crushed red pepper a lot (I used maybe 1/2 tsp.). I used dried herbs, reducing the amounts since dried herb flavor is more intense than fresh. This made a great side dish and I will most likely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I thought this was a good recipe. I actually added some chopped onion and a can of tomato sauce. I also added some salt to the dish once I added the pasta to the sauce, and sprinkled some red pepper instead of using the full tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Too much crushed red pepper! It has a good taste to it, but you can't hardly taste the flavor of the rest of the spices due to how much red pepper is in it. Cut the red pepper in half or even by 3/4, and it might be the perfect dish. but it was quick and easy to make. i also used whole wheat pasta to make it even more healthy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I took away one star because as written the recipe calls for too much crushed red pepper. My family likes hot but I'd recommend starting with 1 tsp rather than one T. Otherwise it is a nice recipe, quick, light and fresh. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
First of all, my thanks to 'Greg' for submitting this delicious gem! I made this for the first time yesterday morning and it is scrumptious. I doubled the recipe, then substituted fettuccine for the penne. I also used only one (1) tablespoon of the crushed red pepper! Such a powerful spice! I took the entire huge bowl down to the Waffle House staff that I've come to know and they all loved it! One suggestion was to either add meatballs, grilled chicken, or shrimp...so I'm contemplating those possibilities, too. All in all, just a SUPER recipe and sure crowd favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a classic Italian side dish with much room for improvisation and versatility. Add more or less garlic to suit your tastes, but I would strongly advise against sauteing it for 10-15 minutes as the recipe directs. Browning the garlic is a risk that should definitely be avoided as it turns unpleasantly bitter. Just saute it for about 30 seconds to a minute, depending on the heat you're using, until fragrant. I also reduced the crushed red pepper significantly--it's presence should be subtle. Use herbs alone or in combination--no need to measure, just add to suit your taste. As with any cooked pasta, reserve some of the cooking water to add to the pasta if necessary as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States