Garlic Pasta with Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Oh my goodness! This is the easiest and tastiest shrimp scampi type pasta I've ever had! I cannot believe how little effort this elegant dish took! I only changed a few things about this recipe: 1) I used a gourmet garlic-infused extra virgin olive oil instead of grilling the garlic in oil. 2) Also 6 tablespoons seems a bit much...that's more than 1/3 cup of oil for pasta for 2 people. I reduced to 4 tablespoons (or 1/4 cup) for the amount of pasta suggested and it came out great. 3) I added the drained pasta directly to the sauting shrimp in the large skillet. (You have to have a very large skillet...which I did.) And 4) You should taste the pasta after you mixed it with the oil. I found that I needed to add a little bit (1 teaspoon or so) of garlic salt to kick up the flavor. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
this was really good. i didn't really expect much because there wasn't alot to it. but the taste was great. i did add a few cloves of garlic because i love garlic and a little more olive oil because it seemed a little dry, but that was it. it just goes to show that you don't need alot of ingredients in a dish to make it good. simple, but elegant is what i have to say about this. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Really good; I agree with using less oil (4 tablespoons are enough). I added one diced avocado and 2 cups of shrimp as opposed to the prawns and 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar; yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This recipe is just wonerful I just love both of these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
So easy to make and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librariange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
My whole family loved this and I found it very easy to prepare. I did however halve the amount of oil and found this to be more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I didn't use prawns in this recipe. I just wanted a nice flavourful, seasoned pasta recipe, and this looked good to me. Turned out it was! Seeing as I'm not a seafood fan, I served this with chicken instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
WOW! This was REALLY good! I only used 4 TBSP of oil, per another review, and I was glad I did that! I also added several cloves of garlic, but my husband and I are garlic freaks....the more the better, for us at least! This was super-easy to make and it was DELICIOUS! Even my toddler loved it! Definitely will be making this over and over again! Thanks for the delicious/easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I cut the oil to a third, and added 1 tablespoon of butter (less likely to burn and enhances the flavor of the shrimp). I ended up doubling the amount of shrimp because we loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
this was excellent - didn't change a thing (except i used huge raw prawns and left the heads and shells on - more fun to eat)delicious will be making this time and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States