Garlic Pasta with Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Oh my goodness! This is the easiest and tastiest shrimp scampi type pasta I've ever had! I cannot believe how little effort this elegant dish took! I only changed a few things about this recipe: 1) I used a gourmet garlic-infused extra virgin olive oil instead of grilling the garlic in oil. 2) Also 6 tablespoons seems a bit much...that's more than 1/3 cup of oil for pasta for 2 people. I reduced to 4 tablespoons (or 1/4 cup) for the amount of pasta suggested and it came out great. 3) I added the drained pasta directly to the sauting shrimp in the large skillet. (You have to have a very large skillet...which I did.) And 4) You should taste the pasta after you mixed it with the oil. I found that I needed to add a little bit (1 teaspoon or so) of garlic salt to kick up the flavor. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Mmmmmmm yummy! Instead of using 8oz pasta I used a full pound of thin spaghetti. I made the sauce with 8 tbsp EVOO, half a stick of butter, juice of 2 lemons, 4 cloves garlic minced, and 1 tsp crushed red pepper. I added about 1 1/2 lbs pre-cooked frozen shrimp to the sauce. but I forgot the parsley! so I am giving this 4 stars because I changed it alot. Thanks so much for the recipie idea it was simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: North Salem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Really good; I agree with using less oil (4 tablespoons are enough). I added one diced avocado and 2 cups of shrimp as opposed to the prawns and 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar; yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I cut the oil to a third, and added 1 tablespoon of butter (less likely to burn and enhances the flavor of the shrimp). I ended up doubling the amount of shrimp because we loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Awesome better then i had expected! although i did make some alterations, only used 4 tbls of EVOO and 2 tbl of cooking wine and 2 tbls of Butter. To Die for.. even my picky son who hates everything gobbled it up and keeps asking for me to make it again! thank you for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good.. My husband didnt like the flavor with the olive oil. I think if it was made with butter it would taste great! I'm going to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
WOW! This was REALLY good! I only used 4 TBSP of oil, per another review, and I was glad I did that! I also added several cloves of garlic, but my husband and I are garlic freaks....the more the better, for us at least! This was super-easy to make and it was DELICIOUS! Even my toddler loved it! Definitely will be making this over and over again! Thanks for the delicious/easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I didn't use prawns in this recipe. I just wanted a nice flavourful, seasoned pasta recipe, and this looked good to me. Turned out it was! Seeing as I'm not a seafood fan, I served this with chicken instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
My whole family loved this and I found it very easy to prepare. I did however halve the amount of oil and found this to be more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Nice recipe but 5 minutes on each side of far too long. 3 maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States