Garlic Parmesan Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was very good! I can't help but laugh when reviewers give a recipe 1 or 2 stars and say it wasn't good, then you read that they subbed ingredients for everything! For example reviewer who used biscuits instead. Don't give it a bad rating if you didn't even come close to following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and it was a big hit. I also made some changes to the basic recipe. Instead of having to wait for bread to thaw, I used 3 tubes of Pillsbury Buttermilk bisquits and cut each one in half. I just sprinked the parmesan cheese between the layers so I used more than 1/2 cup. Overall, it was an appetizer and dessert for some of the family. Thanks! It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I found this recipe to be simple and delicious...with a few modifications. First, make sure to grease the top edge of the pan, even on the outside to keep the rolls from sticking (as they will rise above the top). Also place a piece of foil in the bottom of the oven to catch spills. I used Rhodes frozen dinner rolls and only one egg, omitted the salt, added a stick of butter and a tablespoon of minced garlic (in addition to the garlic powder), made sure to chop the green onions and parsley extra fine, and used 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan, 1/4 cup Colby/Jack and 1/4 cup Mozzarella cheeses. I blended all ingredients together in one bowl and dipped each ball into the mixture -- there was just enough. After baking for 20 minutes, I placed a piece of foil over the top of the pan and baked 15 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. Since the recipe doesn't specify what you do after baking I did the following: Remove pan from oven, immediately inverting it onto a plate, loosen the rolls from the pan and allow it all to sit for about 10 minutes before removing the pan from over the rolls. Sprinkle the top with 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan and lay a piece of foil (loosely) over the top for about 10 minutes so the cheese will melt. Allow to cool completely (uncovered). I found it best to slice individual cake-sized pieces to create a cheese swirled bread. I served this with my own version of the trending "Pizza Casserole" and it was a huge hit! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I have tried the recipe with the eggs and without. I think mostly they make the rest of the ingredients work to stick to the dough. The stated amount of garlic powder makes a mild garlic flavor and it smells wonderful coming out of the oven! Check after the stated 30 minute cooking time, mine was still gooey dough in the middle so I put foil over the top and cooked longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
i omitted the salt, added more garlic powder, butter and minced fresh garlic. I needed twice the dipping ingredients, and even though I greased the pan mine stuck. Taste wise good, but could have used more of something, garlic? parsley??. Overall, good recipe, with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I'm like all the others...ADD MORE GARLIC... I make dough in my bread machine. Also add more mixture to dip it in. I also used more parmesan cheese. This was really good, so I suggest you make it.I will be making this recipe often. Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I make this and brought it to our office pot luck lunch. Everyone raved about it. I made a 2 pound loaf of white bread dough in the breadmaker, on the dough cycle. The seasonings were just right, and so was cooking time. It stuck to the pan, but came out intact. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was so easy and very delicious... kids gobbled it up and requested leftovers for their lunchboxes! I used frozen bun dough, divided in half, and put them into two loaf pans. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This recipe was great. The family loved it and it was very simple. I think next time I might add a little more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Not as good as it sounds will not make again. All that butter ruined my bundt pan. As it was cooking the butter mixture seeped through leaving more mess than it was worth. Taste was blah and the half hour to cook made the bread over done. WILL NOT MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States