Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This was unbelievably delicious with roasted garlic. To roast garlic: slice the top portion off a head of garlic and remove excess papery skin. Drizzle olive oil on top and season with salt. Wrap garlic tightly in foil and place in oven preheated at 375F for 35 minutes. I scaled this recipe down to 6 servings using a 3-pound bag of new red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I'm the author of this recipe, and I just wanted a add a couple of notes. Do NOT use margarine with the recipe, they will come out dry. Make sure you drain the potatoes very well, drop the butter in first, give it a couple of mashes and add the rest of the ingredients. This will help with the consistency. Do NOT overmash or they will get sticky. There should be a few small chunks of potato in the mix when you are done. I know a lot of people do not like raw garlic (I do!), as other reviewers have noted, you may like it better with roasted garlic. Do not add the garlic to the boiling potato water, or you'll end up with almost no garlic flavor at the end. When scaling the recipe, use the "scale recipe" feature on the recipe page to reduce the chance of any math errors. IF you decide to reduce the butter and add milk... the milk MUST be added after you mash in the butter, or the butter will not bind properly with the starch in the potatoes and you'll end up with a weird consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
986 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
One more review hardly seems worth it - so many have already praised this dish. But I'm adding my 2 cents anyhow: Very good - VERY garlicky. I, too, scaled it down for 10 people. Red potatoes boil up very nicely and make it easy to use your blender on them once they're done. I very much liked the strong garlic taste - but a few of my guests did not. However, one did ask for the recipe, and that rarely happens. I did not use quite so much butter as the recipe wanted - I used 2 sticks for the 5 lb of potatoes. After all was said and done, it was more like creamed potatoes than mashed. But I liked it a lot. My suggestion on the garlic: next time I make these, I plan on blanching (boiling) the garlic. This, too, will cut down on the rawness of it without killing the flavor. I would suggest putting in the garlic with the boiling potatoes during the last 10 min of boling as this would both flavor the potatoes and tone down the garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Yes, I completely changed the recipe, but I wanted to review it anyway to express my appreciation for the concept. I made one serving and just eyeballed the amounts of ingredients to my preference. I used russett potatoes, parmesan, margarine, and milk. I boiled the garlic along with the potatoes, which resulted in a loss of all garlic flavour. Next time I will try oven roasting the garlic, instead. This was an enjoyable recipe and a nice change from the norm. ETA: The pungent carmelized flavour of oven roasted garlic was fantastic! I peeled the cloves of garlic and placed them in the centre of a doubled piece of aluminum foil. I drizzled extra virgin olive oil over the garlic and closed the foil, leaving a small vent for steam to escape at the top. I placed this onto a pie plate and then into the oven to roast alongside my meatloaf at 375F for approximately 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Absolutely unbelievable! So easy to make and turned out perfect. Instead of chopped garlic, I simply roasted a bulb of garlic in the oven, mashed it and added it right in. That way the garlic was more mellow and not overpowering. I was a bit nervous that the recipe didn't call for milk, but DON'T WORRY... the butter will make up for it! I added a bit too much (16oz - 4 sticks) and they still came out PERFECT! I used fresh grated romano cheese that I bought at the store in a little tub in the cheese section. Even those who don't like skin-on potatoes raved about them! Virtually foolproof and exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I have a similiar recipe, however I boil the garlic with the potatoes and just mash them together, which leaves lots of garlic taste without biting into raw garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
A unique and exciting flavor. The preparation was easy and didn't take long at all. I made it for my friends and they were all trying to figure out what the extra kick was, it was the Oregano. It goes nicely in these potatoes. I made a couple of minor changes: I added a 1/4 cup of sliced garlic cloves when there was 5 minutes left to boil, this helps soften them up. If you are scaling this recipe down to 10 servings I recommend boiling for only 35-40 minutes. Enjoy... (It's very good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
WOW! These are some great potatoes!! I really don't like the taste of raw garlic, so I used the equivalent amount of roasted garlic, and also substitued Italian seasoning for the oregano. These are fabulous and actually very easy and fast. Will definitely make again and again, especially when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I added 8oz of cream cheese and 1 cup of sour cream. I used fresh romano cheese but it was definitely overpowering. I recommend using half the amount of romano cheese if you are grating your own and if you are not a HUGE garlic fan, but like the taste, use half the garlic as well. All in all a recipe I will keep, but it needs a little more tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My daughter made these potatoes to see if they were as good as my garlic mashed potatoes--we both agreed it was a big dud. It would be infinitely better if you put the whole garlic cloves in the water with the potatoes as they cook. This infuses the potatoes with lots of garlic flavor, and the cloves mash right into the potatoes. Also, oregano in mashed potatoes is just not good at all. We didn't even finish the 4 servings it was scaled down to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States