Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
A little heavy on the butter (to the point that the potatoes look a little greasy as written). I like to use roasted garlic, a little less butter than called for, and eyeball the milk until I get the consistency I want. You really can't beat the flavor of these potatoes! I just like mine a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
WOW - these are really good and definitely a hit in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Yoder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Splendid recipe and the only way I will be making garlic mashed potatoes from now on. I used Z's recommendation and roasted the garlic in the oven before adding to the potatoes. I have made this several times now to rave reviews from every single person. The flavors go very well together and quite honestly these mashed potatoes can be used as a side dish for any main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Incredibly amazing and delicious. Only substituted the salt for garlic salt since I had no garlic on hand. Will definitely make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Felix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
amazing! not so healthy, i cut back on the butter about 1/3 and added a little milk, was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
These were EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lawler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
potatoes were a little too garlicky and when I used the electric mixer the mash was too sticky I think it may have been to much cheese as well. I think if I reduce the quantities of both in the recipe it would have been much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalia El-guindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I actually mashed them instead on cubing and it went great with the Malaysian Chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
The recipe calculator worked beautifully to reduce to 3 servings! Used red skinned potatos. Saved time by microwaving the quartered potatoes 10 min on high (for 1.5 lbs potatos). Cut the butter in half and left the salt out, and they were still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
we enjoyed these potatoes with the following modifications.. i know the submitter said not to use margarine, but you have to make use of what you have on hand.. i scaled this down to 3 servings and used half red potatoes/half russets, 3 T of margarine, about 1/4 cup of greek yogurt, a splash of unsweetened almond milk, 1.5 T of some kind of parm/romano/asiago blend by kraft, half a tsp of italian seasoning for the oregano, and added 3/4 tsp of pepper.. i left the salt and garlic amounts the same, but made sure to sautee the garlic first as i didn't think raw garlic would taste right in the mashed potatoes.. ty for allowing us to try something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States