Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious! Listened to the reviews and boiled the garlic with the potatoes for a couple minutes, it definitely helped soften the garlic and made it more enjoyable to eat. My in-laws weren't crazy about the oregano kick but I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Incredibly simple and delicious. I added some basil leaves which gives some freshness to the rich starch and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I make garlic mashed potatoes all the time because they are requested from me but this just doesn't come out right for me at all. I don't know what it is but I tried doing it exactly the first time and no dice!! Sorry!! I did try this with roasted garlic and it's much better and I also put sliced garlic in with the potatoes to cook and it was much better. As far as the butter going in first, I always melt my butter in the milk and add it together and it turns out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Only suggestion my husband had was maybe a little milk. And I thought possibly some bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe was good, everyone enjoyed it, the cheese gave it a little extra! however I would have liked to have them more fluffy. but still an excellent dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I used only 1/3 of the butter that the recipe called for and 1/2 of the salt and oregano. I also added cream cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaffee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Volo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Mashed potatoes always have been a mystery to me. Usually, mine end up gluey, which has made me dislike mixers and caused me to say things like, "How about rice?." But I tried this recipe anyway, and it lives up to its ratings. I didn't roast my garlic; I just tossed it in. I did use a quarter-stick of butter and a hand masher. I used whatever potatoes that were on hand: some red and some brown but maybe mostly red. Dinner was delayed so the potatoes boiled longer than usual, so I anticipated comments about whether I would be hanging wallpaper after dinner. Amazingly, these potatoes turned out delicious! The extra cooking time made the potato skins disappear into the mash. That never happened before. The oregano is the secret flavor. These potatoes were so good that, even if I had managed to make glue, I would have enjoyed the smell of the room in which I later hung wallpaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My fiance and I love garlic mashed potatoes and this is our go-to recipe. We do reduce the butter a bit and add a bit of milk. We also add ground black pepper for some spice and increase the garlic--we love garlic!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
May never make mashed potatoes any other way again! These came out great! Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States