Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Beef Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was very good. Most of my children went back for seconds. My husband did, too. I used real mashed potatoes and cooked my beef with garlic. When it was almost done I added mushrooms and carrots to sauté in the grease. I made my own cream of beef soup by mixing 2 1/2 cups cold milk with 4 Tb of cornstarch and 3 tsp beef bouillon. When the vegetables were cooked, I added frozen peas and the milk mixture and cooked until thickened. Putting it in a 13x9 dish, I topped the meat with the hot potatoes, sprinkled cheese on top, and broiled it in the oven until the cheese was melted - 1-2 minutes. Since everything went into the dish hot, I didn't have to bake it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My husband really loved this simple recipe. It was quick and easy to make. I used extra lean ground beef. When I sautéed the meat, I first sautéed about 1/4 of a small onion and 3 small gloves of garlic. I also used low fat Cream of Mushroom soup. For the potatoes, I simply follow the recipe on the box for 2 cups of flakes and added the 2nd half of the can of soup to the completed potatoes. Lastly, I used a total of 16 oz of frozen corn, peas, and freshly steamed broccoli. It was tasty and easy. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinzie1125
Home Town: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have this recipe in a Campbell's cookbook and have always loved it. I was surprised at the reviews saying it was too watery. The cookbook version doesn't call for individual potato ingredients, only 3 cups hot mashed potatoes. I do think it needs more potatoes as the covering is a bit skimpy in my opinion. I do season the meat as it's cooking as well with standard hamburger seasonsins...garlic, onion, seasoned salt. It continues to be a winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Major

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
It was good, but needs seasoning badly. It is a pretty easy and quick recipe which is nice for busy work days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
As an unexperienced cook-This would had been good-if it was specified to make mashed potatoes before you start mixing everything. I followed the recipe and it was quite runny and was more like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
my husband actually liked this one... sheppard pie type deals he usually like because it includes too many vegetables he doesnt like but the broccoli in this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
EXCELLENT casserole! I layered mine with cheddar cheese on top of the meat mixture and on top of fresh mashed potatoes. (instead of the instant kind.) I also roasted some fresh jalepeno chilis and sliced them to lay them on top of the last layer of cheese after the casserole was completly finished baking. Absalutely great! "go to" food for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
We thought this was pretty good...I made it with "real" mashed potatoes and I wish I had made more (I was afraid to make too much). Next time I will use more and also us some seasoning on the meat mixture or maybe add garlic. It just needed a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. I couldn't find mushroom and garlic soup so I added a teaspoon of garlic powder to the beef. I didn't have Idahoan potatoes so I just followed the directions on the box of instant garlic mashed potatoes that I had. Next time I will only use one cup of vegetables. I took another reviewer's advice and sprinkled a layer of shredded monterey jack cheese in between the meat and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Good base, but needs some work I used ground turkey(20 oz), it was what I had. I followed other reviewer suggestions and used frozen mixed veggies (carrots, peas, corn, and green beans). I also,made my own mashed potatoes (leftovers would work awesome). I sauted an onion with the turkey and added salt. Pepper, and garlic powder to taste. I added the veggies, the whole can of cream of mushroom soup (again,what I. Had), 1/3 can water and the worchestershire sauce and cooked about 5 minutes more, med heat. Then I topped it with my mashed potatoes. Baked for 30 mins on 350* and tipped with cheddar cheese for last 10 min. It came out sooo good, hit the spot on a cold washington day!,thanks to all the other reviewers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Platzner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States