Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great! The chicken broth always adds an extra level of flavor to the potatoes. It was nice not to have to worry about adding peeled cloves of garlic to the potato water, as it was already in the broth. I did only use a bit of the broth the potatoes were cooked in and added a couple cubes of butter and a spoonful of sour cream for added richness and creaminess. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
If you are looking for "creamy" mashed potatoes, this is NOT what you are looking for. My family loves mashed potatoes & I am always trying to change them up a bit. We are all garic fans, so the garlic flavor was great, but the consistency of the potatoes was more watery than we like. These potatoes need something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahJonez
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was by far the BEST recipe I have tried for mashed potatoes! It went perfectly with my Easter ham and old fashioned green beans! I will not be able to make plain mashed potatoes again! And this was so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJonez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Delicious!! The only change I made was to substitute heavy cream for the broth and add a stick of butter. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love this recipe because it is easy and healthy--not loaded with tons of butter, cream...non-dairy, in fact. My daughter ate them up! Wonderful flavor...If you are looking for a rich and creamy recipe, this is not the one, but it was perfect for us...because I served it with a heavier main dish...and then seasoned veggies. Will definitely make it again--thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is very nice to have on hand for the members of my family who can't or don't eat dairy products. I have tried it with vegetable broth, and it is good, but has a veggie taste. I don't recommend low or fat free broths as it gives the potatoes a "flat" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
mmmmm the perfect mashed potato recipe ... Me and my hubby totally loved it .. i sometimes add a lil bit of heavy cream in the end and mix it in for a nice change ... thank u for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So easy to make & everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
There is a good reason that chefs use fat and cream in their recipes! No butter and milk in mashed potatoes equals non creamy, mealy potatoes that are more gritty than anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States