Garlic Lover's Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Ive made this crust a few times and it is wonderful! The first time I made it was sticky like other viewers have mentioned, so the next time I added an extra 1/3 cup flour and it was perfect! Tastes great with powdered garlic powder but the fresh minced it better. I ran out of olive oil so I'm using melted butter.. hope it turns out just as great! FYI, you can also make two 9in pizzas with this recipe. I used a round 9in cake pan and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe was ok. Three cloves is not nearly enough for the garlic taste to come through in my opinion. If I make this again I would double the amount of garlic. I was also surprised by how long this took to cook despite the fact that I used the recipe to make 2 thin crust pizza's. I wanted to crust to be crispy and ended up cooking the pizza's for almost an hour. The crust still wasn't as crispy as I would have liked. Mind you, I don't have a pizza stone so I made them in a regular pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have made this recipe several times now. Depending on how it is made (thick vs thin), I have different ratings. As a thin crust, it is a 4 star recipe. As a thick crust, it is a 2 star recipe. This is not because I prefer thin crust, but rather the garlic taste and crust texture being substantially different depending on the method you choose. For the best thin crust recipe, do not allow the dough to sit for the 15 minutes listed under step 2, cut this time in half. Also, in step 3, do not allow the dough to sit at all after stretching it on your pan. As a thin crust, you get a crisp outer shell with chewy interior! Many people have said they needed more than 2 cups of flour. I use exactly two cups of bread flour, then appx 1/4 cup for kneading. This is not atypical of many bread recipes. Be certain to use bread flour as it has more gluten which contributes to the chewy texture. I followed the ingredients exactly. However, because I chose to make a margherita pizza, I baked mine at 500 degrees for 12 minutes in my gas oven. Give the Margherita toppings a try (it is the best). Do not use a sauce, instead sprinkle mozzarella, parmesan, and fresh minced garlic on crust, then add thin sliced garden tomatoes and bake at 500 degrees for 12 minutes. Top with chopped fresh basil and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was very good for pizza on the grill! The minced garlic gave it a good flavor and wasn't over powering. I will definitely use this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This dough was good, but I needed more flour. Perhaps it was only my machine, but I found that I needed another 1/3 c. flour to get it to the right consistency. I used garlic powder instead of crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I let it rise for about 30 min after making into "bread stick" shapes put some butter and basil on top then after about 20 min of baking i put cheese on top, now that is Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommyboy937

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Excellent crust recipe. Chewy but soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This crust is awesome! My bread machine has a dough cycle of about an hour and a half. I didn't want to wait that long so I put it in for about 10 min. It turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjm1982
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a five star recipe. I followed everything exactly as stated, except I added one extra garlic clove, and I did not use the 20 minutes of rising time for a thicker crust (I prefer thin crust). I also pre-baked the crust before adding any ingredients to get it even crispier. The garlic flavor wasn't overpowering, but you could definitely get the flavor from the crust, it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
It worked our really well. I love the garlic taste it's not heavy, but just right & very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States