Garlic Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
great taste, lots of nutrients in the kale and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great, and so easy! I don't mind eating the stems (the part of the stem that contains the leaves, not the bare stalk part), so I just chop the leaves and stem without removing the leaves. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I used this recipe for the first time I cooked kale (tonight). I'd never had it before so I wasn't sure what to expect, flavour-wise. I put this as a side dish with oven-baked chicken legs and it turned out very nicely. Warning to any new to kale: it's rather bitter and has a similar taste/testure to spinach. This was incredibly easy and flavourful so I will *definitely* make it again. Next time, I will make a couple changes: 1. 6 cloves of garlic, added AFTER the kale (when you add garlic first, you risk burning and wrecking the flavour; it is MUCH tastier when added in the last 1-2 mins when cooking it by sautee). Like some others, I just prefer more garlic. 2. Adding some salt or sugar to offset the bitterness. I may try steaming (as others suggested) by putting the kale in a microwave-safe dish with a little water for a few minutes (I need to buy a new steamer and I keep forgetting). Only change I made to this recipe tonight was adding a bit more oil, because I cooked it in a large skillet instead of a saucepan for the larger surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Excellent! It was easy and fast. I prepared it exactly like the instructions and then did a sqeeze of lemon over it as I served it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccalcut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I love Kale and I use this method often. I eat a lot of Kale, and unless its fresh from the garden (usually after the first frost), I tend to cook it for around 15 minutes to prevent it tasting rubbery. First if I have a large bunch of kale I'll thinly slice a whole bulb of garlic, because I love garlic. If I add the garlic first, it burns, so I cook the kale for a good 10 minutes before adding the garlic. To cut down on oil, I'll cut up the kale and then rinse it off in the strainer. I use the water left on the kale leaves combined with a dash of oil to saute it. And finally I add some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was the first time I cooked kale. I was given two bunches of it. I wasn't sure what to expect because I had never eaten any either. I followed the recipe to the tee. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I also loved the simplicity of the recipe. I made it as a side to go with Italian meatballs and penne marinara. I sauteed mushrooms also. My family LOVED it. The combination of the mushrooms and garlic kale together was awesome. Everyone enjoyed it leftover the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was so so yummy and so easy!! I did throw the kale in first and then the garlic, like one of the reviewers suggested. I loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this for my family and everyone loves it. I like to add a pinch of sea salt and some grated Parmesan when it hits the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum. Just needed a little fresh cracked black pepper and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I use this all the time but slight variations- if you steam the kale first it takesm more of the bitterness out. Also, I like to sauté until crispier, and add red pepper flakes for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States